$15.00
$20.00
$30.00
$5.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Covert» Forums » Rules

Subject: Breaking Codes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Logan
United States
Havertown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
My words literally betray me.
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I break a code, then use the swap ability, then break another code?

Once I place a die to help break a code, does it get removed uncovering the covered number? Or does it block that number while trying to break a second code?

Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J-F Audy
Canada
Chambly
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
By the rules, you can break two codes but with only one swap per turn. If you use a die to break one code, you cannot use it again to break another code.

From the rules, p. 6
"In turn order, each player breaks up to two codes on
their Code Cards."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Logan
United States
Havertown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
My words literally betray me.
mbmbmbmbmb
JFAudy wrote:
By the rules, you can break two codes but with only one swap per turn. If you use a die to break one code, you cannot use it again to break another code.

From the rules, p. 6
"In turn order, each player breaks up to two codes on
their Code Cards."


Agreed.

But this doesn't really address my question. I'll try rephrasing.

Is the order:

- swap
- place dice
- break codes

?

Or can I do:

- place die
- break code
- remove used die
- swap
- break another code

?

And specifically, does the used die remain for the rest of my code breaking turn effectively blocking the space since it can't be reused.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Logan
United States
Havertown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
My words literally betray me.
mbmbmbmbmb
It is possible that it is never relevant that you might be blocked by your own die.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J-F Audy
Canada
Chambly
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You can do both!

From my understanding, you remove the die after you used it to break a code.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J-F Audy
Canada
Chambly
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm sure the designer will eventually answer your question with more precision.

He's very active on BGG!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J-F Audy
Canada
Chambly
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think that you can be blocked by your own die because you place it at the moment you need it to break a code and you get it back as soon as you used it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kane Klenko
United States
Ridgeway
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
You can do your swap at any time during your code breaking turn, so you could break a code, swap, and then break another code.

As soon as you break a code with your die it is removed, so it's only relevant for the one code break.

Does that answer everything?

-Kane
16 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Deckert
United States
Salina
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks Kane. We played last night and I had this very question. It was great meeting you at GenCon.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate Hodges
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, with the two code max... do you:
1) break your first code and then break your second (if possible) and then draw two new codes

or

2) do you break a code, draw another code card, and break either of those and then draw back up to two?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carrie K
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You do not draw new cards until after you have completed all of your code breaking, immediately before the next player's turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Cross
msg tools
mbmbmb
Could you place 2 die there during dice placement and break 2 different codes using 1 die each attempt?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carrie K
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. As long as each die was only used once, you could use as many dice as you want there. During dice placement, you place your dice next to the code breaker. When it is your turn to break a code, you move your die/dice onto the code breaker as you need them for a code. Once the code is broken, those dice are immediately returned to the player area. If you are able to break another code, you may use any of your dice that remain in that area, again moving them onto the code breaker as needed. Dice are not moved ONTO the code breaker until it is that player's turn and only as they are needed for a specific code.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Cross
msg tools
mbmbmb
Nice! Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.