$5.00
$20.00
$15.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Hammer of the Scots» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreating in battle round 1 is legal? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andre Oliveira
Brazil
Sao Paulo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In other games, combatants can't retreat in battle round 1.
Is it possible in this one?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Malbon
United States
Santa Cruz
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I haven't read the rules in a long time, but I do recall that in Hammer, you can retreat in the first round.

Works well for Wallace getting around and staying alive. Just you lose the territory.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andre Oliveira
Brazil
Sao Paulo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Got it.

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Johnson
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Keeping this in mind is an important part of tactics - nobles (B class blocks) can pretty much always retreat from an inauspicious battle, but unaccompanied infantry (C) blocks of both sides are vulnerable to attacks by groups of B blocks, who'll get first-strike advantage. The rare A blocks of each side break the pattern, so its important to try to keep track of where they are.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oakfed wrote:
Keeping this in mind is an important part of tactics - nobles (B class blocks) can pretty much always retreat from an inauspicious battle, but unaccompanied infantry (C) blocks of both sides are vulnerable to attacks by groups of B blocks, who'll get first-strike advantage. The rare A blocks of each side break the pattern, so its important to try to keep track of where they are.
Yes, especially since the attacker can retreat in the first round too and doesn't have to retreat to where they came from.
Always beware of nobles waltzing right past infantry!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.