Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

SYNOD» Forums » Rules

Subject: Favor of the Coalkin rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Arms
United States
Rio Rancho
New Mexico
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Favor of the Coalkin:

"When you gain this FAVOR, play the top card of the deck. Ignore its ability. Discard 1 of your cards from play."

My question is, upon playing the top card of the deck (as above), if that card is not a Coalkin, would playing it allow you to take that faction's Favor (assuming you didn't already have it)?

We are guessing No. Part of the reason is from this text in the rulebook:

"After playing a Noble card face up from their hand, the player gains the Favor of the Caste that Noble belongs to (if the player does not already have that Caste's Favor and if it is available)."

In the question above, the card is not being played from the player's hand - it is played from the top of the deck.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
j clowdus
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That is correct! Favor cards are only gained by playing cards from your hand.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Arms
United States
Rio Rancho
New Mexico
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My thanks for the clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.