Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jersey Milk
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmb
Hi folks, strategy question on Salonika... From someone who is still a beginner, but not a total noob.

In a game last night I played into Salonika mostly just to see what would happen. Bulgaria had recently joined the war and was on its way north to help exterminate the Serbs, so I figured it would be helpful to check them by threatening Sofia. I sent 2 British Corps to do the job, on the thinking that the French were too weak, and a really couldn't afford to send 3. Oh and Turkey wasn't in the war, FWIW.

However! Once I got there I realized that I couldn't move one of my Corps off of Salonika itself, because I would be put OOS instantly by a Bulgarian Corps. Uh oh! I thus sent 1 Corps north, and they did do some damage, but it was mostly just a sideshow and not the threat I had planned. My questions then...

I took from that that 3 corps are necessary here; one as a rearguard, two as an attacking force (maybe leave a French one behind if short on British Corps?). How do more experienced players play Salonika? I also thought that it's perhaps worth doing, even if you get the original corps killed, if only to have somewhere to rebuild Serbian forces? Thoughts? I'm not looking for definite rules or anything, just your general strategic thoughts on Salonika, and when you like to play it / what you do with it.

Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark J.
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
It's been awhile since I played this but to get the ball rolling...I like to hold it as a threat until I get Army of the Orient. Then I cause a distraction elsewhere before quickly play Salonika and AOO. For that reason I like sending French corps there so activation costs less. AOO with some corps can be a real headache for the CP.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jersey Milk
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmb