$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Cuba Libre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sweep + Air Strike / Reprisal: what target spaces are eligible? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mart van de Wege
Netherlands
Den Haag
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
Hi,

A short question, to affirm my reading of the rules:

When doing a Sweep and taking an Air Strike or a Reprisal as a Special Activity, is it correct that the the SA can take any eligible Space, not just a Space that was targeted by the Sweep?
Quote:

4.2.2 Air Strike. An Air Strike destroys an exposed Insurgent unit.
It may only accompany Garrison, Sweep, or Assault (3.2.2-.4) and
occur in a Province or EC (not City). It may not occur if US Alliance
is Embargoed (6.3.1).

Quote:

4.2.3 Reprisal. Reprisal reduces Opposition and displaces Guerril-
las. It may only accompany Garrison, Sweep, or Assault (3.2.2-.4)
and occur in 1 Govt-Controlled space (1.7).


If I read rule 4.1.1 correctly, the answer is yes, as neither SA specifies that it has to occur in a previously selected space for the Sweep:
Quote:

4.1.1. Accompanying Operations. Some Special Activities specify
that they may only accompany certain types of Operations (3.0).
Certain Special Activities may take place only in the locations of
their Accompanying Operations. If not otherwise specified, Special
Activities may accompany any Operations and take place in any
otherwise valid spaces.


Or does the word 'Accompany' in the SA description mean that these activities are only allowed in Spaces targeted by the Sweep?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E V
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mvdwege wrote:
When doing a Sweep and taking an Air Strike or a Reprisal as a Special Activity, is it correct that the the SA can take any eligible Space, not just a Space that was targeted by the Sweep?


Yes.

mvdwege wrote:
Or does the word 'Accompany' in the SA description mean that these activities are only allowed in Spaces targeted by the Sweep?


No, it means that a given SA can be executed only if a given Command has been/is being/will be executed by a Faction on a card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mart van de Wege
Netherlands
Den Haag
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
evacbs wrote:
mvdwege wrote:
When doing a Sweep and taking an Air Strike or a Reprisal as a Special Activity, is it correct that the the SA can take any eligible Space, not just a Space that was targeted by the Sweep?


Yes.


Yes, I can see the thematic application:

- Government Sweeps into La Habana.
- Government officer talking to the subversive elements they picked up: "Look, either you give us information, or we throw you in jail".
- Random citizen with rebel sympathies: "There's a bunch of folks hiding over in Las Villas".
- Government officer calls HQ and they order an Air Strike.

That's how we played it tonight, and it makes sense to me. Just checking laugh
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sherlock
United States
Anaheim Hills
California
flag msg tools
Admin @ www.cigargeeks.com
mbmbmbmbmb
You could also look at it as it takes preparation and resources to launch an air strike. Only with a mobilization of additional military elements would such a strike be authorized.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.