GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

7,906 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
21 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

The Amberden Affair» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules FAQ from Two Penny game's Web site rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
stin gray
United States
Topeka
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Since Two Penny game's Web site is off line at the moment , I grabbed their rules FAQ from web.archive.org.

https://web.archive.org/web/20140823003334/http://twopennygames.com/the-amberden-affair-faq ***Sorry about the broken link***

Q: Do I have to talk when I play a rumor token?

A: Yes! It's a rumor. Say something - anything, doesn't have to be true but should relate to the game.

Q: Why and how do I play Rumor Tokens?

A: Playing rumor tokens is a key way of gaining points, or keeping others from gaining points. They add depth to your strategy throughout the game, not just at the end of the round. Here are some turn examples that may help:

Quoted from the Rule Book: "Strategy: You might spread a rumor when you have a clue as to who may be playing the Impostor, or you might just spread a rumor to misdirect other footmen. Remember, when you play rumors, other players gain insight into the information you've gathered. So, be careful not to give away too much by how and when you spread a rumor."

Example 1: Sydney was just at the Baron and saw he had not yet been poisoned. If Alex then gives an item to the Baron, and Sydney looks at the Baron's items to see Arsenic there, Sydney can be sure that Alex is the Impostor. However, Sydney may wait a turn or two to play a rumor token. Even though Sydney is sure she is right, being too hasty in playing rumor tokens would tip others off to the information she gathered.

Example 2: Kris sees Alex go to the Baron and give a card. Kris does not know what that card was, but has a "Follow a Hunch" card which he plays to look at Alex's Order Cards. He sees that Alex did not have an order which would require him to go to the Baron. So, Kris suspects that the card Alex gave to the Baron was poison. This is enough information for Kris to want to play a rumor token, however, he waits since everyone saw him look at Alex's Orders. If he played on his suspicions now, everyone else could assume that Kris saw something that would point to Alex being the Impostor. To keep his earned information to himself, Kris will wait a turn or two before playing rumor tokens.

Example 3: Alex is the Impostor and is getting nervous that Kris and Sydney are on his trail. So, he plays an "Investigate" card to look at Kris's item cards. Immediately Alex plays all his rumors in hopes that the other players may suspect that Alex saw incriminating evidence in Kris's item cards. Alex hopes this is enough to throw suspicion off of himself and cause other people to make incorrect accusations.

Q: Is it allowed for a player to pick-up an item card even if s/he does not have the corresponding objective card that would require him/her to do so?

A: Yes.

Q: Is it allowed for a player to put an item card into a pile in which is does not belong?

A: Yes.

Really, regarding these questions concerning misappropriation of item cards, there is an intentional lack of guidelines in the rule book because, technically, you can use your actions to pick up anything and bring it anywhere. However, you ultimately only have a capacity of two cards, and only 30 actions in a round (likely fewer). If you want to spend a third or half of them to pick up items you don't need, drop them off in places they don't belong, only to (maybe) sabotage another player or two from 20 or 30 points, you can. But that may not be the most efficient way to get an advantage in the game. We suggest that the most efficient use of a player's time is to fulfill as many orders as they can in the time allowed and playing rumor tokens to boost points with a correct accusation.

Q: If two players arrive at the same space at the same time, whether they start the turn there together, or they arrive within the turn together, how do you resolve who gets to interact with the item pile first?

A: There is no standard. Make this a part of your strategy! Whoever grabs the pile first gets to interact with it first. But there are times that you may want to be the first player to the pile, and there are times when you may want to be the last player to place and item. Just remember, it will take an additional action to look into a pile a second time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.