$20.00
$15.00
$5.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Politicks» Forums » Rules

Subject: Effect of event ordering on non-negative politician influence capping rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J B
Malta
flag msg tools
Let's take this example:

Faction: Union Haddiema Maghqudin
Blue alignment, expertise in Workers (Hammer) and Economics (Euro sign), 3 Votes.

P1 plays Evarist Bartolo, 4-4, Education and Environment expertise.
His current influence score is 4.

P2 plays Mario Demarco, 2-5 Patriotism, Economics and Religion expertise.
His current influence score is 5 + 1 = 6.

P3 plays Lawrence Gonzo, 2-5, Environment, Economics and Religion.
Eddie Fenech Adami is in the discard pile, so he gets +1,+1
His current influence score is therefore 5 + 1 + 1 = 7.

P4 plays event card: Mohh Ta' Pizella: All Policians get -11, -11.
Now all politicians have influence score 0,0 because the card also states that No Politician may have influence below zero.

P5 passes.

P6 plays Zieda tal-Bagit: The faction in play gains an expertise of your choice. He chooses Religion.

At this point what happens?
Will Lawrence Gonzi still have 0,0 due to the -11, -11 from Mohh ta Pizella?
Or will Lawrence Gonzi have 0,+1 due to the new expertise added by the second event card added AFTER Mohh ta Pizella, and even though it says -11,-11, the effect only takes place at the moment when it is played, thus not effecting subsequent updates to the influence score?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Twist Ees
msg tools
Hi,

As you are doing, (i) the event effects are applied in the order they happen; (ii) influence cannot go below zero.

In your example Lawrence Gonzi is reduced from 2/5 to 0/0 with Mohh Ta' Pizella (which gives -11/-11). If someone were to play Laburist Joqtol (which gives +1/0) on Lawrence Gonzi, he would now be a 1/0 politician.

In other words, Lawrence Gonzi is reduced to 0/0, and not to -9/-6 showing as a 0/0.

As to expertise symbols, these are used to calculate influence at the end of the round, and not added to the influence scores (the red and blue ones). Therefore, Zieda tal-Bagit will add Religious expertise to Lawrence Gonzi, which adds an additional influence score only at the end of a round.

Hope this helps!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J B
Malta
flag msg tools
Thanks for your reply. So this raises another important question which I think is not clear in the manual.

Lawrence Gonzi has 2/5 influence, with:
+1,+1 because Eddie Fenech Adami is in the discard pile
Environment, Economics and Religion expertise.

Once again if the faction is Union Haddiema Maghqudin (blue, workers, economics).

And the event card Mohh Ta Pizella is applied, -11/-11.

Let's now say the round stops there, how is the influence score of Lawrence Gonzi calculated at the end of the round?

Does he get:
2/5 -> +1/+1 (Eddie) = 3/6 -> -11/-11 = 0/0 +1 (Blue, Economics) = 1?

Or does he get:
2/5 -> -11/-11 = 0/0 -> +1/+1 (Eddie) = 1/1 +1 (Blue, Economics) = 2?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Twist Ees
msg tools
Since EFA was in the discard pile before the -11/-11, that gets applied first, and he is thus 0/0 with 1 common expertise - final influence = 1.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Smith
msg tools
I have a question related to Mohh ta' Pizella. Does the -11/-11 count to those politicians which are inplay at the moment? So if for example in a 4 player game, players 1 and 2 play a politician, player 3 plays 'Mohh ta Pizella', and player 4 plays a politician after that event card. Would player 4's politician be 0/0 or no?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Twist Ees
msg tools
The minus effects are on the red and blue influence scores and so, at the end of the round, common expertise between the faction in play and politicians is still counted towards the overall influence and used to decide who wins the round.

Hope that helps!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.