Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Marvel Dice Masters: Age of Ultron» Forums » Rules

Subject: Giant Man: Original Avenger (spin up ability) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Alexander
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Once each turn, when one of your other characters is KO’d, spin this character up one level (if able)."

Player A attacked with a level 2 Giant Man (Original Avenger) and a sidekick. Player B also had a level 2 Giant Man (Pym Particles) and a sidekick, both with which he defended against the attack, level 2 Giant Man vs level 2 Giant Man, sidekick vs sidekick.

All of the character dice were mutually KO'd.

Player A asserts that as his sidekick was KO'd, his Giant Man (Original Avenger) should be spun up and returned to the field.

Player B asserts that because Giant Man was KO'd himself, his ability could not take effect as he was no longer active (alive/in the field) to benefit from it.

What is the ruling on this?

Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul K.
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All the combat damage would be dealt simultaneously. Sidekicks each deal each other 1 damage. Level 2 Giant Man each deal each other 4 damage.

Any "when damaged" effects would trigger now, which don't apply.

Any characters who have taken damage greater than or equal to their Defense value are now KO'd (simultaneously).

Any "when KO'd" effects take place now, which Giant Man isn't. His is a "while active" that triggers on another KO. Since he is KO'd, his ability wouldn't trigger since he isn't active at that point.

If his ability triggered on taking damage, then he would take the 4 damage, spin up, and stay alive (since he had 4 damage to his 7 Defense). He would have already dealt his 4 damage as well, so the opposing character wouldn't take the new 7A value (since that already happened).

In short, Player B is right. I can't access it from this computer, but you can search the WKRF for the ruling on Retaliation, which works similarly (in that it is an Active ability that triggers when a different character is KO'd, and it does not trigger if that character is KO'd at the same time).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Alexander
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you.

I'm Player B. It wouldn't make sense to me to trigger his ability when he was KO'd himself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.