Subject: Should I buy now? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
K S
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, I just started playing Doomtown, and I quite like it. I am still enjoying the preconstructed decks in the core game, but I would like to give deck building a shot. I understand that the game is going to be discontinued, so I'm wondering what I can expect that to mean for prices/availability. Should I buy as much as I can now before it's gone/expensive, or is it probably safe to wait and play it a bit more before expanding? And, of course, any recommendations on expansions to pick up? I already got "New Town, New Rules" because it was only like $6 on Amazon.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
So it goes.
United States
Shillington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
People are stupid; they can only rarely tell the difference between a lie and the truth, and yet they are confident they can, and so are all the easier to fool.
badge
"You wouldn't worry half as much about what other people thought of you if you realized how rarely they actually did."
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say you can expect the prices to drop substantially as businesses try to sell of their remaining stock. I've seen sets on ebay selling for $5-$8 a piece so keep an eye out there and amazon.

I'd suggest trying to buy the sets in the order they were released as they build on previous themes and mechanics. But if you find some expansions super cheap that are not the next ones chronologically speaking buy them anyway. You'll want a complete set by the end to be able to build a variety of decks. There really weren't any expansions that I would say "don't buy" because they all have something to offer if you're trying to build decks for all of the factions
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian George
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb