Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Darkest Night (First edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Blight Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Norse
United States
Felton
California
flag msg tools
The "Spawning Shades" quest penalty--what happens if all shades are in play, do you draw another card and choose a blight that way?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That is the intent, yes. If you don't have enough tokens to place a blight, draw a new map card. If you haven't found a blight you can spawn after 3 tries, just pick one.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Lang
msg tools
Okay, so it is indeed intended that there are less blights of each type than there possibly could spawn?

In our still ongoing, first round, we assumed that we simply had to spawn as many tokens as necessary to spawn the blights on the map xD

So, to give an example:
If the necromancers move would spawn a lich on the village, but there are no lich tokens left anymore, I would have to draw another mapcard (up to 3) to get a new blight for which hopefully there are still enough tokens left?

EDIT:
Okay thanks, found your answer! https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1586394/blight-question
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Narktor wrote:
Okay, so it is indeed intended that there are less blights of each type than there possibly could spawn?

With no token limits, the theoretical maximum that could spawn is enormous; about 24-28 for most blights. There was no way we were including that many tokens in the game!

The maximums also have some relevance for game balance; some enforced variety prevents the most extreme good/bad cases and gives you some choice over what threats to face. The most important case is the Nexus in the fourth expansion, which only has one copy, because with two of them you could theoretically make a circle of blights protecting each other that would make it impossible to destroy them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.