The Hotness
Games|People|Company
The Hotness has gone cold...
Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Combat Commander: Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Hidden Unit" action roll rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Saad
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When rolling for units on the reinforcement table for the "Hidden Unit" action, are die triggers still applicable on that roll.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
HEEREN Xavier
Belgium
Liège
Lièe
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
yes, because hidden unit is not a "trigger" but an action card...



9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cmoipap wrote:
yes, because hidden unit is not a "trigger" but an action card...





Incorrect.

From E42:
Quote:
Die triggers are always ignored during any die roll occurring during an Event.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cmoipap wrote:
yes, because hidden unit is not a "trigger" but an action card...





Sorry, that's incorrect.

From E42:
Quote:
Die triggers are always ignored during any die roll occurring during an Event.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Malacandra wrote:
cmoipap wrote:
yes, because hidden unit is not a "trigger" but an action card...





Incorrect.

From E42:
Quote:
Die triggers are always ignored during any die roll occurring during an Event.

But Hidden Unit is an Action, not an Event. Or am I missing something?
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marty Sample
United States
MILFORD
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is Hidden Unit Action, which is triggered IIRC when an opponent discards ( its got a Red title since its a Defender only action ) . So a roll on that *Action* could cause a Trigger.

If it was a Hidden Reinforcement ( I think that's what its called ) *Event* that is generated via Event die roll , then that roll can NOT cause a Trigger, because basically you can't have a Trigger nested inside another Trigger.
6 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
HEEREN Xavier
Belgium
Liège
Lièe
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Marty S wrote:
There is Hidden Unit Action, which is triggered IIRC when an opponent discards ( its got a Red title since its a Defender only action ) . So a roll on that *Action* could cause a Trigger.

If it was a Hidden Reinforcement ( I think that's what its called ) *Event* that is generated via Event die roll , then that roll can NOT cause a Trigger, because basically you can't have a Trigger nested inside another Trigger.


so has i right ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Saad
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

That makes total sense that a trigger still applies on the "Hidden unit" Action roll.

My opponent argued that "Normal Play" is suspended when rolling on the chart regardless of an "Event" or an "Action".

I pointed out that the rules state "Normal Play" is paused only by a "Trigger/Event".

thanks for the clarity









2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cmoipap wrote:
Marty S wrote:
There is Hidden Unit Action, which is triggered IIRC when an opponent discards ( its got a Red title since its a Defender only action ) . So a roll on that *Action* could cause a Trigger.

If it was a Hidden Reinforcement ( I think that's what its called ) *Event* that is generated via Event die roll , then that roll can NOT cause a Trigger, because basically you can't have a Trigger nested inside another Trigger.


so has i right ?


Yes! And I bombed it! My apologies. blush
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.