$20.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Dreamwell» Forums » Rules

Subject: Entering the Dreamwell: Do Diagonal Doors Count as "Free" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
False Maria
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
So, first of all, great game. Really enjoyed playing it so far.

One question: When you enter the Dreamwell via a "door", it doesn't count as an action. But a lot of doors point diagonally towards the corners of the tiles. Can I use that door as a "free" move? Perhaps only if it's on the corner tile, and point towards said corner? Rules didn't clarify this.

Cheers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Beazer
United States
Orem
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Diagonal doors are like any other doors. They have 2 effects.

When LEAVING a tile, you may only go in the direction of a door on the tile you are leaving. You may not leave in a direction that does not have a door.

When ENTERING a tile, you may enter from any direction. HOWEVER if you entered from the direction of a door, that move is free and you may continue moving.

After reading your question more carefully, I'll make a more specific answer. Any door on the outer edge of the Dreamwell can be used to enter the Dreamwell. So, if any door is available on the outer edge of the tile you want to enter, entry is free. If there is no door on the outer edge of that tile, the move is not free.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Little
msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
I want to provide a little clarification on this issue.

When you move onto a tile that has a door that leads to the where your pawn was before moving, you may move again for free. The action of moving onto a tile with a door pointing to the one you left is not free. The next movement is free. Think of it as a buy one get one free sale. You have to pay for the first movement with an action, but if you move somewhere that connects to your starting tile, you get to move again for free.

To answer your initial question, a door on the corner of the tile pointing off the board, does lead off of the board. If you are off the board and move onto that tile, you may move that pawn again for free.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.