Subject: Flanking confusion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Craig M.
United States
Winchester
Virginia
flag msg tools
Hello. I am fairly new to the CoH Atb ruleset so it's possible I am just not seeing something that may be obvious here. In regards to the solo rules, I am having confusion between the terms:

1) move into target's flank (this one seems obvious to me as it appears the AI moves into the 3 flank hexes of the unit (two side ones/rear)

2) move towards enemy flank (this is one of the parameters while going thru a normal move). Does this mean any flank hex (the 3 flanking hexes immediately adjacent an unit AND the many hexes behind the unit where one can fire a flanking shot?

Any clarification is appreciated. Thanks.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
PenCapChew wrote:
Hello. I am fairly new to the CoH Atb ruleset so it's possible I am just not seeing something that may be obvious here. In regards to the solo rules, I am having confusion between the terms:

1) move into target's flank (this one seems obvious to me as it appears the AI moves into the 3 flank hexes of the unit (two side ones/rear)

2) move towards enemy flank (this is one of the parameters while going thru a normal move). Does this mean any flank hex (the 3 flanking hexes immediately adjacent an unit AND the many hexes behind the unit where one can fire a flanking shot?

Any clarification is appreciated. Thanks.

I always supposed that this kind of AI instruction means your 2nd interpretation (i.e. toward any of the many green non-arc-of-fire hexes in Figure 8 of rule section 6.1 of Awakening the Bear base rules), not just literally the 3 flank hexes adjacent to the target. (But I am not certain.)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Karl
United States
Vienna
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb