$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Shadowrun: Crossfire» Forums » General

Subject: Rules Q: Assigning generated damage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Yancey Larochelle-Williams
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
So, need a clarification here:

When assigning damage from an assist card (like Doc Wagon Contract), the damage "floats" and can be assigned to any target the current player chooses.

When assigning damage from a card that generates extra damage (Remington Streetsweeper, Icon Grab, etc.), the damage has to be assigned to the target the card was assigned to?

Is that correct? Or could I assign the extra color damage from an Icon Grab to a different target?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean McCarthy
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Novatheorem wrote:
So, need a clarification here:

When assigning damage from an assist card (like Doc Wagon Contract), the damage "floats" and can be assigned to any target the current player chooses.

When assigning damage from a card that generates extra damage (Remington Streetsweeper, Icon Grab, etc.), the damage has to be assigned to the target the card was assigned to?

Is that correct? Or could I assign the extra color damage from an Icon Grab to a different target?


The general rule is that cards deal all of their damage to a single obstacle. Some specific cases:

Covering Fire. The obstacle that's damaged doesn't have to be the one you prevent from attacking. That's a totally separate effect.

Icon Grab. Both to the same obstacle!

Remington Roomsweeper. Since it specifically says that it hits multiple obstacles, it does. By the way, note that there's an easy way to misread the card: what it does is you pick a player and it hits all the obstacles facing them INSTEAD of picking a single obstacle and hitting it that. It doesn't do both.

Also keep in mind that although you do assign cards to obstacles at the moment you play them, you can choose different assignments later. The early assignment is just to help you plan more clearly.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Novatheorem wrote:
So, need a clarification here:

When assigning damage from an assist card (like Doc Wagon Contract), the damage "floats" and can be assigned to any target the current player chooses.

When assigning damage from a card that generates extra damage (Remington Streetsweeper, Icon Grab, etc.), the damage has to be assigned to the target the card was assigned to?

Is that correct? Or could I assign the extra color damage from an Icon Grab to a different target?


Play all the cards you're going to play.
Effects on the cards that aren't damage (healing, drawing a card, revealing from deck, etc) happen when the card gets played.
Then assign the damage.
Damage on a single card cannot be split across two targets unless an effect on the card says otherwise.

So the "bonus" damage from Icon Grab is assigned to whatever target Icon Grab hit.
The damage from the Remington hits every obstacle facing one player.
Etc.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.