$30.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Dragon & Flagon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Push Barrel from Table? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Urban
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
Can you push a barrel (kick it?) when standing on a table? For that matter, can you push an adjacent table when standing on a table? The rules do not forbid either one, so I suppose that both are allowed, though they seem a bit odd.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoffrey Engelstein
United States
Bridgewater
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
The Fog of War! Available now!
badge
Ludology Host and Dice Tower Contributor
mbmbmbmbmb
It's allowed by the letter of the rules. You can yank a rug while standing on a table also*.

We realize the physics of that don't make sense. But after long discussions during design decided we didn't want to add extra rules to what already was becoming a bit rules-heavy.

If you'd like to house rule it, that's totally ok.

Geoff

* It is theoretically possible to yank a rug while on a table that is also partially in the rug. We've never seen this actually happen, but if someone tries it, they would also suffer the effects, and the reputation would go out of the game. Then tell them not to do that again.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Cantrell
United States
Berkeley
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Pushing a table while on another table isn't too hard to imagine. Just say you kicked it, which is like pushing it with your foot.

Likewise kicking a barrel from a table isn't so odd either. Try it yourself sometime!


Pulling a rug from a table, however, is really hard to explain away. I can't do that one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan kilgore
United States
Unspecified
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Barrels may end up under tables that have been placed or pushed against a wall. Another improbable situation to push the barrel while on the table and nearly the same as yanking the rug from under the table you are currently standing on.

In a Three Stooges variant maybe...

I would just use a house rule forbidding these two actions and let players know.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.