Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: What to do if damage exceeds max health rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christopher
United States
Unspecified
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If an investigator receives 9 damage but has a max of 8, how is that resolved?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zen
Japan
Kyoto
flag msg tools
youtube.com/neatozen
badge
follow me on twitter: @zenxacred
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SpoDaddy wrote:
If an investigator receives 9 damage but has a max of 8, how is that resolved?


As normal.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's the answer from the rulebook:

Damage & Horror - Wounded wrote:
• If an effect cause an investigator to suffer Damage in excess
of his health, he suffers all Damage from that effect before
becoming Wounded and discarding his facedown Damage.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
Here's the answer from the rulebook:

Damage & Horror - Wounded wrote:
• If an effect cause an investigator to suffer Damage in excess
of his health, he suffers all Damage from that effect before
becoming Wounded and discarding his facedown Damage.

That was a very counter-intuitive rule which took us a bit to become accustomed. Effectively, you take damage until your HP max (or more) and then you transition to the "wounded" category. Then you get to suffer wounds until you transition to the "dead" category.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Taylor
Switzerland
Uster
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SpoDaddy wrote:
If an investigator receives 9 damage but has a max of 8, how is that resolved?


You take 9 damage. Then you discard all 9 damage and pick up a wounded card.

You don't take 8, become wounded and then take another one.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
simondtaylor wrote:
You take 9 damage. Then you discard all 9 damage and pick up a wounded card.

You only discard the ones that are facedown, so perhaps not all 9 of them...
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niels Taatgen
Netherlands
Groningen
Groningen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
Here's the answer from the rulebook:

Damage & Horror - Wounded wrote:
• If an effect cause an investigator to suffer Damage in excess
of his health, he suffers all Damage from that effect before
becoming Wounded and discarding his facedown Damage.



Ahh, so your damage can be equal to your health without you getting wounded yet (or dying). Contrary to the "Zero HP means you die" default assumption.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
niels wrote:
Clipper wrote:
Here's the answer from the rulebook:

Damage & Horror - Wounded wrote:
• If an effect cause an investigator to suffer Damage in excess
of his health, he suffers all Damage from that effect before
becoming Wounded and discarding his facedown Damage.



Ahh, so your damage can be equal to your health without you getting wounded yet (or dying). Contrary to the "Zero HP means you die" default assumption.

Err, no. It would help if you had a look at the Rules Reference for the full story and not just take this out of context.

Page 7 wrote:
Damage & Horror cont.

Wounded
If an investigator has suffered Damage—whether faceup or
facedown—equal to or exceeding his health, that investigator becomes
Wounded.
• When an investigator becomes Wounded, he gains a Wounded
Condition and discards all of his facedown Damage.
•• If an effect cause an investigator to suffer Damage in excess
of his health, he suffers all Damage from that effect before
becoming Wounded and discarding his facedown Damage.
• When a Wounded investigator has suffered Damage equal to or
exceeding his health, that investigator is eliminated.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As I typically explain this kind of thing:
You can take damage equal to your health in one shot and you will become wounded.
You can take a million damage in one shot and you will become wounded.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Harlan

Oregon
msg tools
mb
byronczimmer wrote:
As I typically explain this kind of thing:
You can take damage equal to your health in one shot and you will become wounded.
You can take a million damage in one shot and you will become wounded.

... So long as none of those damage cards resolve face-up...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
Mxyzptlk wrote:
byronczimmer wrote:
As I typically explain this kind of thing:
You can take damage equal to your health in one shot and you will become wounded.
You can take a million damage in one shot and you will become wounded.

... So long as none of those damage cards resolve face-up...

Why would that matter?

Why would taking one or two Damage face-up change the fact that you become wounded?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Janne
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
xris wrote:
Mxyzptlk wrote:
byronczimmer wrote:
As I typically explain this kind of thing:
You can take damage equal to your health in one shot and you will become wounded.
You can take a million damage in one shot and you will become wounded.

... So long as none of those damage cards resolve face-up...

Why would that matter?

Why would taking one or two Damage face-up change the fact that you become wounded?


Some damage cards will make you discard it (after getting a status effect) so you might not become wounded after all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
jhsa wrote:
Some damage cards will make you discard it (after getting a status effect) so you might not become wounded after all.

Ah yes, of course.

Thanks blush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher
United States
Unspecified
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
xris wrote:
Mxyzptlk wrote:
byronczimmer wrote:
As I typically explain this kind of thing:
You can take damage equal to your health in one shot and you will become wounded.
You can take a million damage in one shot and you will become wounded.

... So long as none of those damage cards resolve face-up...

Why would that matter?

Why would taking one or two Damage face-up change the fact that you become wounded?


If your health max is 8 and you take 8 face up damage cards, you become wounded and then dead because only face down damage is discarded after becoming wounded.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
SpoDaddy wrote:
xris wrote:
Mxyzptlk wrote:
byronczimmer wrote:
As I typically explain this kind of thing:
You can take damage equal to your health in one shot and you will become wounded.
You can take a million damage in one shot and you will become wounded.

... So long as none of those damage cards resolve face-up...

Why would that matter?

Why would taking one or two Damage face-up change the fact that you become wounded?


If your health max is 8 and you take 8 face up damage cards, you become wounded and then dead because only face down damage is discarded after becoming wounded.

Sigh...

Yes, yes, yes. I worked out that possibility which is why I only mentioned taking one or two face up damage. And anyway, the post in question was only talking about being wounded, not death.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher
United States
Unspecified
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just clarifying to cover all bases, no need to get fussy.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.