World of Warcraft: The Boardgame» Forums » General

Subject: What's a good starting game? Just bought WoW boardgame rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kerri Wright
Australia
flag msg tools
Hi everyone!

I am new to the fantasy? Board game scene and have been wanting to play them for years.

I just bought the World of Warcraft game for me and my two nephews who are 10 and 12.

What is a good recommendation for a starting game like this? as this one seems a bit hard for the boys, and myself too!

Thanks for any info you can give me,

Kerri

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Szegedi
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Kerri...

welcome to "Fantasy" boardgaming. First off... don't be overwhelmed by the rules. There are a lot of rules to take in especially at first.

Make sure you read them carefully though. Follow the set-up procedures and make sure you don't skip any steps.

Second thing... try to organize the pieces carefully (group the creatures minis and cards and tokens, etc.)- for this will help the game progress faster instead of searching through mounds of tokens and minis.

Third thing... just enjoy the game experience... immerce yourself in the "World of Warcraft" (in this case) and expect to make some rule mistakes as you start to play but, learn from them quickly.

Besides what comes with the games, there are many helpful resource/ player aids you can download here from the Geek which can help your games along as well.

And last (but not least) ask questions here... you will find many people who would be eager to help!

As for this game... maybe play a shorter version of the game just to help them get used to the mechanics of the game (this game actually takes a bit to play out!)

Hope that helps a bit!

Enjoy!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Figgins
United States
Woodland
California
flag msg tools
badge
http://lyrislaser.com
mbmbmbmbmb