Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Williams
Scotland
Elgin
Moray
flag msg tools
mbmb
I have been debating Agricola vs Caverna for a while now. I play games often with my wife and 16-18 year old 'kids', this one would be mostly for Wifey's benefit as she's an animal lover (though we all are, it mostly applies to her).

Anyway... Wifey isn't a gamer and neither is my daughter. My son handles complex stuff better than Wifey but he will probably be least interested in the game.

We did borrow ACBAS from a friend and she liked it a lot, however it was really short and a bit limiting for my tastes. So I have been considering for about 2 years now whether to 'upgrade' to Agricola or Caverna.

As an animal lover it seems more variety would be a big plus - Agricola has Sheep, Boar and Cows in its basic form while Caverna also has doggies and donkeys. So Caverna seems to have more freedom to raise different animal types and maybe even more of them. The cuteness wouldn't hurt, though the dwarf theme wouldn't be a plus I don't think it would be a negative either.

However from what I gather Caverna is more difficult rules-wise, which is probably my main concern. Our favourite game to play is War of the Ring, but she found it hard work to learn this game and she still gets confused with the rules especially if we didn't play for a while. I don't think Caverna is as bad (in fact the basic format seems much simpler - place a worker, do what it says) but it does also throw a lot of options at the players. I don't imagine us playing the full version until we have quite a few games played.

Counter to that is Agricola is less forgiving and can be more stressful. This is another point for Caverna I believe.

I like the idea of different setups each time so Agricola perhaps wins for variety/replayability (though there seem enough options in Caverna to keep us going a long time).