$20.00
$15.00
$5.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Grifters» Forums » Rules

Subject: few questions about the 'team up': (thug, middle man dirty cop) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
lel dude
msg tools
If the card says to team up, does that mean i play two cards into night one of the hideout?

so for example if i use the 'middleman' which says to 'choose a specialist in your refresh area, team up that specialist with the middleman' and I have a mastermind in the refresh area.

does the mastermind AND middleman go into night one area of the hideout? or only the middleman alone?

does the mastermind AND middleman count as a 'team'? can this team of two be targeted by the 'dirty cop' which 'steals 1m ISK for each team in their hideout'

in addition, if i use the middleman and I have a team in my refresh area, can i choose any one specialist from the team in the refresh area? or can i only use the middleman on night one when there is only one specialist in the refresh area which is not part of a team?


last question for the thug: if i team the thug up with the mastermind 'brain skill type' and an enemy has played one specialist each on night one (counterfeiter), night two (counterfeiter) and night three (fixer) of their hideout which all has 'brain skill type' does the enemy pay me 3M ISK?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Tlapek
United States
Lake In The Hills
ILLINOIS
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Any time 2 or more cards are stacked together in the Hideout, they are considered a "team".

In the use case of the Middle Man, a player would play the Middle Man into Night 1 (the Caper action). In resolving his text, you would take any 1 specialist (so if there are more than 1 in the refresh, you pick) from the Refresh Area and "Team" (stack) the card with the Middle Man, meaning placing the selected card into Night one as well.

This means that the newly created "Team" in Night 1, in your example the Middle Man and Mastermind, is now targetable by any action affecting Teams (i.e. Dirty Cop or Wheelman).

Lastly, The Thug would steal 1 for each solo card. In a 4 player game, if all players had all solo blue cards in their Hideout, you would steal 3 from each opponent.

If this is still confusing, please let me know and I will be happy to continue.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danwarr
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
does the mastermind AND middleman go into night one area of the hideout?


Yes. The Mastermind and the Middleman form a team in Night One.

This can be targeted by the Dirty Cop.

I'm pretty sure the Middleman can target any Specialist in your Refresh area as well.

Quote:

last question for the thug: if i team the thug up with the mastermind 'brain skill type' and an enemy has played one specialist each on night one (counterfeiter), night two (counterfeiter) and night three (fixer) of their hideout which all has 'brain skill type' does the enemy pay me 3M ISK?


This is correct from my understanding of the rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
lel dude
msg tools
this is a revelation and thanks for explaining it so clearly

so a thug can potentially steal up to 9M ISK max in one turn in a 4 player game if I follow what you're saying, absolutely bonkers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Fulton
United States
Carpentersville
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
It's possible yeah. But for it to happen either the stars would have to align or players would actively be trying to set it up together. I think the most I've ever gotten was 6. And I've played 400+ gamesome grifters.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.