Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

The Bermuda Crisis: Discovery Dawning (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: FAQ rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jerrod Warr
United States
Arvada
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've designated this post for questions that come in regarding rule clarifications and game play. So far, here are the questions I've received and their answers:

--------------------

1. How do you suggest randomizing resources for cards such as Hidden Path/Quicksand (Venture) and Tainted Water (Ambush)?

A: Admittedly, the use of "random" in Hidden Path is a bit confusing when compared to a card like Tainted Water and should probably say "... cost you 3 random resources of your choice...". The use of "random" in Hidden Path means its owner can choose whatever 3 resources they want to pay for any Mystique (essentially applying the general cost of Venture cards to all Mystiques). So it appears random to the other players.

For Tainted Water, it's a random resource that the opponent(s) being targeted don't get to choose. So in this case you can choose any method you like, such as shuffle up the opponent's resources and distribute one card, have the attacker take a face-down card, roll a die, etc.

As a general rule, remember that Ventures help their owner when they are green side up, so if Hidden Path truly made the cost to buy Mystiques random for the owner, that would be a detriment. Ambush cards attack opponents, so ambiguity should be read in favor of the attacker.


2. With the promo card Excavation/Siege (Venture), can you shuffle any deck?

A: Excavation only refers to the Common and Rare Resource decks. For example, you couldn't use this ability on the Boost deck. And while we're on the subject of clarifying this card, here's some additional information: although highly unlikely, if there is no discard pile for either the Commons or Rares, you cannot perform the Excavation action.

Designer's insight: The real power of Excavation is not the random resource you get from the draw, but weakening the discard pile strategies employed by opponents through abilities like the ones provided with Endless Bounty and and Engineering Compound's Ultimate Upgrade option C on the Advanced Side.

3. Do players receive Catalysts during setup?

A: Players don't receive their first Catalyst until the Hourglass marker hits the corresponding spot on the Discovery Dawning Track (ie, circle 5 on side 1). From that point on, players only get new Catalyst cards by completing the Catalyst they currently have or through the Asylum camp.

--------------------

I appreciate any and all questions and am happy to answer them - keep them coming!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.