$20.00
$60.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Tiny Epic Western» Forums » Rules

Subject: Understanding instant and attackers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Ballou
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
If I'm reading the rules correctly, if an attacker is placed on an instant field, he would immediately gain the benifit of the instant regardless out the out come of the duel.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Coe
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.GamelynGames.com
badge
www.GamelynGames.com
mbmbmbmbmb
No, they'd have to win the duel first.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Ballou
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
But the defender always gets the benifit by virtue of placing first, ignoring duel outcome. And in the case of a chain of duels if the first attacker wins, he would get the instant, since he would become the defender in the second duel. Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Coe
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.GamelynGames.com
badge
www.GamelynGames.com
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Ballou
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Jacobson
United States
Lake Forest
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
This seems to contradict the rules.

Quote:
A wounded Posse can:

* Retain the [!] benefit of the placement spot it occupies.


So if the Attacker loses the duel and is wounded, he does not get to benefit from an Instant spot in any way?

Edit: it's clarified in the FAQ on the bottom of the box that attacker must win to benefit from the spot. Leaving this here for others who stumble across this as well.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MaineCoon wrote:
This seems to contradict the rules.

Quote:
A wounded Posse can:

* Retain the [!] benefit of the placement spot it occupies.


So if the Attacker loses the duel and is wounded, he does not get to benefit from an Instant spot in any way?

Edit: it's clarified in the FAQ on the bottom of the box that attacker must win to benefit from the spot. Leaving this here for others who stumble across this as well.


The point of the rule is that the defender doesn't lose any benefits they've previously taken, rather than that the attacker automatically gets the benefit whether they win or lose.

So someone who has taken resources already gets to retain that benefit despite losing the duel; someone who hasn't yet benefited retains the nothing they have from it rather than gaining a benefit despite being defeated.

The rule isn't ideally worded, but the wording does make sense for the intended effect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.