Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Barty vs Dementor (Year 3&4 spoilers) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Jones
United States
Wilsonville
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The effect of Barty Crouch Jr. is "Heroes cannot remove tokens from the Location." (Emphasis mine.) The reward for defeating the Dementor is "Remove 1 token from the Location."

When the Dementor is defeated, is the hero removing the token or is the Villain card removing the token? (If the former, Barty's ability prevents it; if the latter, you can still remove the token if Barty is in play.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Leder
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had this exact situation come up when we played, and after some discussion, we chose to believe that the villains were real jerks and could combo to prevent us from removing the token. Same with Dark Arts events or Basilisk that prevent you from drawing a card: if you then defeat a villain that allows you to draw a card while one of those is out there, we chose to say that you were out of luck.

Maybe the official answer will vary, but that's how we went.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Wolf
United States
Carlsbad
Unspecified
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmb
MantaScorp wrote:
We had this exact situation come up when we played, and after some discussion, we chose to believe that the villains were real jerks and could combo to prevent us from removing the token. Same with Dark Arts events or Basilisk that prevent you from drawing a card: if you then defeat a villain that allows you to draw a card while one of those is out there, we chose to say that you were out of luck.

Maybe the official answer will vary, but that's how we went.


That is correct. The Villains are indeed 'real jerks' and if one has an ability preventing the Heroes from doing something, they do not gain the reward from defeating another Villain.

Andrew Wolf
Game Designer - USAopoly
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.