$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Robinson Crusoe: Adventures on the Cursed Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: Spend night outside of camp? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Manning
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mb
Someone please explain this to me. Can he still eat? When do I get the stuff I found during that day? As soon as the next round starts or at the weather phase of the next round? I'm just confused about how to handle spending the night out of the camp.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kilo Force
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
I play with Red
badge
I play with Red
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
"Night phase outside of the Camp – When a player spends
the Night outside of the Camp, he keeps everything he
acquired during his Actions (resources, tokens, cards, etc.)
in his own supply and only puts those items in the Available
Resources space at the beginning of the next round (therefore
other players cannot use them during the Weather and
Night phase of this round). Although this player will not be
affected by the Weather, he will get a Wound for sleeping in
the open air (unless he explored an Island tile with a Shelter
during his Action). He must still eat in the Night phase by
discarding one food, if he gathered any during his Action.
Otherwise, he gets 2 additional Wounds."


Pg 16, at least in the old rulebook
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rom Brown
New Zealand
Gisborne
flag msg tools
Live Fast. Love Hard. Die With Your Mask On.
badge
True-Man's come home! ...and he IS the storm!
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
"SPENDING THE NIGHT PHASE OUTSIDE OF CAMP
Some green Adventure cards and several Mystery cards force a character
to spend the Night Phase outside of camp. In this case, you place all gained
Mystery cards, Discovery tokens and resources gained during the Action
which caused you to spend the night outside of the camp on your Character
sheet instead of the Future Resources space. These materials and their effects
(if any) until the end of the round are only available to you.

Resources previously gathered by you in the round, if any, remain in the
Future Resources space.

If you resolve another Action in the same round and gain additional
Treasures, Discovery tokens, or resources, place them in the Future
Resources space as usual, unless another effect makes you spend the Night
Phase outside of camp again. In this case, you can choose which of the tiles to
spend the Night Phase on.

During the Weather Phase, a character outside of camp is not affected by
weather effects. Sleeping under an open sky (if there is no natural shelter
on the respective Island tile) causes you to suffer 1 wound during the Night
Phase. And, naturally, you must eat. If you have no food on your Character
sheet, you suffer 2 wounds (see also the Night Phase on page 23).

You return to camp at the start of the following round. All resources you still
own are then placed in the Available Resources space."


And the wording from the 2016 edition.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Manning
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mb
Great! Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomas
Finland
Helsinki
flag msg tools
Ideas are bulletproof
badge
I think, therefore I am, I think
mbmbmbmbmb
What about starting items like biscuits or bottle of rum? Found conflicting answers in previous threads.

The new rules have this to say about starting items:

Quote:
Unless noted otherwise, they can be used by any character at any time, including during the Event Phase, while resolving an Action, or (for Starting Equipment) at the start of the game. Only the Basket and Sack are
exceptions and must be assigned during planning
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dr.Kánai Zoltán
Hungary
Nagyatád
flag msg tools
Actually I cant understand this part can someone explain?

"Resources previously gathered by you in the round, if any, remain in the
Future Resources space.

If you resolve another Action in the same round and gain additional
Treasures, Discovery tokens, or resources, place them in the Future
Resources space as usual, unless another effect makes you spend the Night Phase outside of camp again. In this case, you can choose which of the tiles to spend the Night Phase on."

First question:
OK I understand that if I spend the night out, my resources that I just got when got the order of sleeping out stays with me (I cannot bring them home, okay.) What I found before, stays in future resources. But what I find AFTER getting the order of sleeping out, goes into future resources, so I can take them home?? Only those??

Second question:
If I get a second order or sleeping out, I can sleep wherever I want? Even on tile I never went before?
Also, in this case, I keep other resources as well?

Thanks in advance

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joffrey N.
France
Meyzieu
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kanaizol wrote:
Actually I cant understand this part can someone explain?

"Resources previously gathered by you in the round, if any, remain in the
Future Resources space.

If you resolve another Action in the same round and gain additional
Treasures, Discovery tokens, or resources, place them in the Future
Resources space as usual, unless another effect makes you spend the Night Phase outside of camp again. In this case, you can choose which of the tiles to spend the Night Phase on."

First question:
OK I understand that if I spend the night out, my resources that I just got when got the order of sleeping out stays with me (I cannot bring them home, okay.) What I found before, stays in future resources. But what I find AFTER getting the order of sleeping out, goes into future resources, so I can take them home?? Only those??

Second question:
If I get a second order or sleeping out, I can sleep wherever I want? Even on tile I never went before?
Also, in this case, I keep other resources as well?

Thanks in advance


1st : Hmmm maybe the "previously" word should have been avoided. Actually, if you succeed another exploration (after the initial that makes you spend the night outside) and get any resources in this second one without spending the night outside again, then those resources should go to Future Resources space. You're correct, only those !

2nd : As per the rules, "...unless another effect makes you spend the Night Phase outside of camp again. In this case, you can choose which of the tiles to spend the Night Phase on." means one of the 2 tiles you have explored and not any explored tile
My understanding is that you keep every resources that makes you spend the night outside (on both tiles then). They are only available to you until the end of the round

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Box of Delights
United Kingdom
Neston
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
designer
Visit me at www.boxofdelights.net
mbmbmbmbmb
kanaizol wrote:

First question:
OK I understand that if I spend the night out, my resources that I just got when got the order of sleeping out stays with me (I cannot bring them home, okay.) What I found before, stays in future resources. But what I find AFTER getting the order of sleeping out, goes into future resources, so I can take them home?? Only those??



You have the answer, but I just wanted to add (because I questioned the rule change myself), this means if you action more than once, if you get sent outside of camp on the first action then not on the second, it makes it more order independent to say that resources collected during other actions go to Future Resources still.

e.g. imagine I explore twice. First explore of TILE A sends me out of camp, second explore of TILE B doesn't. Resources from the first action on TILE A go to my character board, resources from TILE B during 2nd action go to Future Resources. Imagine now I happened to switch the order of those actions. This time, once more, resources from TILE B go to Future Resources and then resources from TILE A go outside of camp. Makes sense, right? i.e. the order I do stuff in becomes insignificant. So, the rule makes sense.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.