When is a project completed? Only when it reaches the highest level? Would a single round project be marked complete if it was at its highest level? Group Projects? How do you count these when computing for the life goal of completed projects?
Can you place your marker on an item you own to buy the next level of that item?
Normal Projects are considered completed when you reach the highest level.
Single Round and Group Projects are considered completed when the round ends (and you remove them from play). You don't need to reach a particular level (or amount of joiners) -- Upgrading items (and activities) can be done using Version 2 rules - you can perform a card action to increase the level of an item you own (or an activity you've performed) - as long as you go up (no going down).