Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Networks» Forums » Rules

Subject: Exclusive Rights rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Denman
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does this card allow you to effectively get the show without paying for it ever? The wording on the card could mean that you are essentially reserving a show for future use and that you will pay for it at that time. Or it might mean that you never pay for it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gil Hova
United States
Jersey City
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Trump wrote:
Does this card allow you to effectively get the show without paying for it ever? The wording on the card could mean that you are essentially reserving a show for future use and that you will pay for it at that time. Or it might mean that you never pay for it.


There's two parts to using this card. The first part is "reserving" your show. You can do this when you take Exclusive Rights, or if you decline that, when you take a Develop Show action while your Exclusive Rights card is empty.

That part of the action, reserving the show, is free.

The second part of the action is developing the show that was reserved on Exclusive Rights. For that, you must pay the cost of the show as if you were developing it from the show pool. Once you do that, you discard Exclusive Rights.

Hope this helps!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Denman
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, so we did it right. We didn't realize that it could be used for a future reservation instead of an immediate one, so that's good to add on. Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Denman
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
IngredientX wrote:
There's two parts to using this card. The first part is "reserving" your show. You can do this when you take Exclusive Rights, or if you decline that, when you take a Develop Show action while your Exclusive Rights card is empty.


That's not how the card is written. You're the designer though. Is that what was intended?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gil Hova
United States
Jersey City
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Check out the clarification in the card almanac on page 18 of the rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Denman
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aha! I see. It's a special condition when there AREN'T any shows to pair with it. I'll try to make as point at looking through the almanac as cards show up in the game so that I can learn about any other strange interactions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.