Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Guns of August» Forums » Rules

Subject: More on Linking Combat Support Units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stu Carson
Canada
Halifax
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
A defending hex contains 2 infantry corps and an artillery unit. One of the infantry units is below an entrenchment and the other is above, as is the artillery. If attacked, may the artillery be linked to the infantry below the entrenchment marker?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fangotango
Canada
Halifax
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say yes, they can link, but the linked infantry + artillery would not be protected by the trench.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Popejoy
United States
Potomac Falls
Virginia
flag msg tools
GWX Dev Team
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Evil Stu wrote:
A defending hex contains 2 infantry corps and an artillery unit. One of the infantry units is below an entrenchment and the other is above, as is the artillery. If attacked, may the artillery be linked to the infantry below the entrenchment marker?

Hi!

I agree with fangotango, since his interpretation accommodates both of the relevant rules.

Quote:
13.21 When the phasing player initiates an attack, before the allocates the specific units participating in the attack, the non-phasing player may allocate any combat support unit[s] in the defending hex to any combat unit[s] in the same hex. (italics added)

and

Quote:
16.22 The die roll is decreased by one when all of the defending units are under an Entrenchment marker. (italic added)

Hope this helps!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.