$5.00
$20.00
$15.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Grand Prix» Forums » Rules

Subject: Spin-Off Event & Pitting rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Harold Coleman
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can a car that spins off the outside of the track due to this even pit in the same turn? We assumed not since the car does not specifically say he can, that he had to first get back on the track then pit on the next turn. Also, since the event causes a safety zone on the inside lane, what is the correct procedure for getting the car back onto the track when activated? Must it cross all lanes at 1 MP per space?

This event led to a bizarre ending of our race the other night when it took out the lead car about 10 spaces before the end of the race. That car had not yet pitted, taking the chance to get a big lead, then do a final pit before crossing the line, but his damage (3 tire, 1 close call) caused his strategy to backfire when the event was revealed and he lost a tie-breaker draw. We played that he could not pit and he had to spend MPs to cross 2 lanes of traffic to get back into the single safety zone lane, which allowed a line of cars to catch up to him and pushed him across the finish line without pitting, thus causing his disqualification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stig Morten
Norway
Kvernaland
flag msg tools
Thunder Alley: Crew Chief Expansion - Coming soon to Kickstarter!
badge
Evil lurks here!
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct that the car spins out and since it is on the outside it can't pit that turn. In his case it was a really bad event.

When a safety-zone appears there is only 1 active lane, so you just ignore those not used as a safety-zone lane.
Getting back on track after this spin-out costs the normal MP's.
1 MP to laterally move into the safety-zone lane, and 2 MP's if you have to displace any cars to get into the safety-zone lane.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel S
United States
Bay City
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ad79 wrote:
You are correct that the car spins out and since it is on the outside it can't pit that turn. In his case it was a really bad event.

When a safety-zone appears there is only 1 active lane, so you just ignore those not used as a safety-zone lane.
Getting back on track after this spin-out costs the normal MP's.
1 MP to laterally move into the safety-zone lane, and 2 MP's if you have to displace any cars to get into the safety-zone lane.


Doesn't any lateral move cost 2 MP's?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harold Coleman
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Only if you displace another car. Laterally moving into an empty space costs only 1 MP.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.