Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Machina Arcana» Forums » Rules

Subject: Exclusive Quest, more questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
AGN1964 AGN1964
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The game is getting smoother and smoother.

Q1) The Spiked Cuirass makes an attack. Does this attack ethereal monsters? Traps and barrels are described as indirect attacks and these hit ethereal monsters. The Spiked Cuirass seemed like it is not an attack the explorer can direct. It seems more like a trap than a weapon.

Q2) We attacked a Buopoth (When hit, it moves 2 spaces toward monster spawn) with a Long-Ranged Rifle (On hit, attack by using block remainder as attack roll). The attack roll with the Long-Ranged Rifle was hit enough to get 2 hits.
Q2.1) What order do the special effects go?
Q2.2) Do you need LOS for the second attack? This is only an issue if the monster moves after the first hit. Really, the question is whether this is two hits from one attack or two attacks doing 1 hit each. Many other effects are triggered "On Hit", so it is an important question.
We played:
1) Regular hit does damage.
2) Buopoth moves towards nearest spawn.
3) Check for LOS/Range again (we had both, so this did not affect us).
4) Apply damage from the second attack/hit.
In retrospect, I think we were wrong. It seems more likely that the explorer fired the Long-Ranged Rifle once, that there was one hit actual hit and it did two damage. In game terms, "when hit" effects are triggered once but two health are removed.

Q3) Mad Gambles has two conditional quests, one is "Activate Chapter Space: restore 4 health".
Q3.1) is the health restored to the team, the explorers who contribute to activating the chapter space or just the active explorer?
Q3.2) is this quest optional? Could we just do the second quest and move on with the story?

Q4) We did not understand the Shantak's move power "When moves, it teleports adjacent monster to its previous position.
Q4.1 When do you invoke this power? When the full/multi-space move is complete? After it moves one square (therefore, the power can trigger many times per activation)? Before it moves one square? We played after it moved one square; this allowed it move through crowds ahead of it, by teleporting them out of the way. Cool.
Q4.2 What happens when it it is adjacent to several monsters? Teleport one monster of the player's choice to the Shantak's previous position? Or teleport all of them, placing one on the Shantak's old square and the others as close as you can?

We just managed to get out. We'll play this scenario tonight and do better!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juraj Bilic
Croatia
Varazdin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Quote:
Q1) The Spiked Cuirass makes an attack. Does this attack ethereal monsters? Traps and barrels are described as indirect attacks and these hit ethereal monsters. The Spiked Cuirass seemed like it is not an attack the explorer can direct. It seems more like a trap than a weapon.

You are correct (it does attack ethereal monsters).

Q2) We attacked a Buopoth (When hit, it moves 2 spaces toward monster spawn) with a Long-Ranged Rifle (On hit, attack by using block remainder as attack roll). The attack roll with the Long-Ranged Rifle was hit enough to get 2 hits.
Quote:
Q2.1) What order do the special effects go?

Manual Page 16: Stacked Abilities: "There is the possibility that many effects can be resolved at the same time. If that is the case, the players specify the order in which the abilities are resolved."

Quote:
Q2.2) Do you need LOS for the second attack?

No you don't need LOS for the second attack.

Quote:
Really, the question is whether this is two hits from one attack or two attacks doing 1 hit each. Many other effects are triggered "On Hit", so it is an important question.

It's two attacks, doing 1 hit each.

Quote:
We played:
1) Regular hit does damage.
2) Buopoth moves towards nearest spawn.
3) Check for LOS/Range again (we had both, so this did not affect us).
4) Apply damage from the second attack/hit.

You played correctly, although you could've chosen the different way to resolve stacked abilities. Let me demonstrate by analyzing the "stack call":
1) You played the active ability of Long Range Rifle targeting Buopoth
- The effect is resolved, you roll the die and score a hit
- Buopoth immediately loses 1 health
- At this point you have two abilities on the stack:
a) When Buopoth is hit ability
b) When rifle hits ability

Scenario I: If you first resolve a) and then b):
2) a): Buopoth moves 2 spaces
3) b): 2nd attack from the rifle (regardless of LOS)
- You take the remainder of the previous attack roll and score a hit
- Buopoth loses 1 health, it dies.

Scenario II: If you first resolve b) and then a):
2) b): 2nd attack from the rifle (regardless of LOS)
- You take the remainder of the previous attack roll and score a hit
- Buopoth loses 1 health, and dies.
a): is never resolved.

Q3) Mad Gambles has two conditional quests, one is "Activate Chapter Space: restore 4 health".
Quote:
Q3.1) is the health restored to the team, the explorers who contribute to activating the chapter space or just the active explorer?

Only to the explorer who played the ability.

Quote:
Q3.2) is this quest optional? Could we just do the second quest and move on with the story?

Yes, this specific quest ability is optional.

The easiest way to think about chapter's quest abilities is:
- once you see them, you can't flip chapters by just activating chapter spaces as usual;
- every explorer gains all quest abilities of the current chapter.

So in the case of Mad Gambles, you still won't be able to go to next chapter when you activate chapter spaces, but at least there is some gain in case you do activate them.

Quote:
Q4) We did not understand the Shantak's move power "When moves, it teleports adjacent monster to its previous position.
Q4.1 When do you invoke this power? When the full/multi-space move is complete? After it moves one square (therefore, the power can trigger many times per activation)? Before it moves one square? We played after it moved one square; this allowed it move through crowds ahead of it, by teleporting them out of the way. Cool.

After every move he makes, after every step he takes.
Complete breakdown:
1) Before moving, check if there is an adjacent monster and remember Shantak's position (X)
(if multiple choices, players choose one)
2) Move 1 space
3) Teleport that chosen monster (if any) to Shantak's previous position (X).

Quote:
Q4.2 What happens when it it is adjacent to several monsters? Teleport one monster of the player's choice to the Shantak's previous position? Or teleport all of them, placing one on the Shantak's old square and the others as close as you can?

When there's more than one possible choice, and you don't have a Puppeteer, players choose between themselves.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AGN1964 AGN1964
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for all the support. It's great when you quote the rule book, I can go back and see what else I missed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.