$30.00
$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Asia Engulfed» Forums » Rules

Subject: Contested Luzon and supply rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bill Vargas
United States
Palisades Park
New Jersey
flag msg tools
What happens if Japan (or later on the U.S.) invades Luzon in the December 1941 turn but doesn't eliminate the militia in the opening round of combat? 7.23 says both sides would share a port in a contested area but Luzon has no port. Bataan is Allied controlled and the rules say port boxes are apart from any attached area, 5.17. Leyte is enemy controlled and garrisoned and Mindanao is enemy but empty. All 3 are ports but again, 5.17. The rules don’t say the partial supply is shared so where would contested invading Japanese get supply from or are they out of supply? Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Forest Green Hobbit
United States
Montpelier
Vermont
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the circumstances from your question, the Japanese forces would not be out of supply. The relevant rule is 3.4 "Units on a coastal area need not trace to a port initially (even if the coastline is marked as impassable), but still trace supply through the adjacent sea-zone and beyond to a Supply Source port as above." So one may supply directly from a non-port land area to an adjacent in-supply sea zone. Since an adjacent in-supply sea zone is required to launch the amphibious invasion (rule 7.2) the Japanese forces in a contested Luzon would be in supply for that turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.