Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Elysium» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2 player quest clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Welborn

Washington
msg tools
mb
To gain a quest in a 2 player does it cost both colors or just one? I couldn't find anything in the rules other than normal Acquisition Conditions
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan St. John
Canada
Cornwall
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It costs you one of the 2 colors above the desired quest.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Newton
United Kingdom
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
badge
In the interest of giving credit where credit is due, my avatar is a scan of a hand-drawn caricature by cartoonist Jim Naylor which was done at my company's 20th anniversary dinner.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is in the rule book at the bottom-right corner of page 5:
Elysium Rule book wrote:
With 2 players, taking a Quest is easier: you merely need to possess one of the two colors displayed above it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew B
Sweden
Linköping
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rsj77 wrote:
It costs you one of the 2 colors above the desired quest.


Just to be 100% clear. That's the acquisition requirement, you can flip any column, it does not have to be one of the two colours above. Same as acquiring cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patty Pilf
Finland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
andrewbwm wrote:
rsj77 wrote:
It costs you one of the 2 colors above the desired quest.


Just to be 100% clear. That's the acquisition requirement, you can flip any column, it does not have to be one of the two colours above. Same as acquiring cards.


Clear as mud.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew B
Sweden
Linköping
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AntandBeeandtheABC wrote:
Clear as mud.


We can fix that.

Let's say you have the red and green columns still available
Let's say a quest requires a blue or red column.

For you to be able to get said quest you need to have at least one of those two colours available. You qualify, as you have the red column still available.

However, after getting the quest you don't have to flip the red column to unavailable, you just have to flip over a column. Therefore, in this case you can pick to either flip the red or the green column over to unavailable.

Is this any better?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Fielding
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The distinction between the "to select" and "cost of selection" is pretty weird.
I wonder if it is really necessary.
It certainly makes the game "easier" wrt obtaining things of a particular color, since you can use that color 4 times to "select" something requiring that color, before you lost that color in "payment."

An explanation of WHY the designer utilized this would go a long way towards player's having an understanding of the logic of the rule, which then leads to remembering the rule.

Or is it just a cute mechanism they thought of & tossed in? That would be bad design.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.