Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Song of Blades and Heroes» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sorcerers and summoners rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Santi Velasco
Spain
San Juan de Aznalfarache
Seville
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I already asked this over on the Song of Gold and Darkness forum but there seems to be no activity there, so in case my question went unnoticed, here it goes.

In SOBH all specialist mages like Necromancer, Elementalist, etc. explicitly state in their descriptions how they differ from vanilla magic-users, like "Necromancers can't cast the transfix spell" and such. In the description for the Sorcerer and the Summoner though, it just says they are specialist magic-users, but no words whatsoever on any limitations. So, does it mean sorcerers and summoners can cast all magic-user spells? or do they just get to cast their own spell and that's all?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim M-L
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I would take any ability as granting what it says, so if it does not mention giving the model transifix or a ranged attack, then the model does not get them.

At some point, Andrea made a post or chart clarifying which caster types have which abilities. I would look for a post from several years ago in the yahoo group. I think the confusion over this led to the system for spells in Advanced SBH.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Procopio
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Yes, the system for spellcasting is improved/rationalized in Advanced Song of Blade and Heroes. Definitely worth the upgrade!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Fee
United States
Corning
New York
flag msg tools
designer
No fair! They're using brains against us! We removed our brains to make room for guns and explosives!
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorcerer does get them (as he otherwise would have no abilities). He gains the ability to sacrifice but must be Evil (opening him up to Paladins and such).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Santi Velasco
Spain
San Juan de Aznalfarache
Seville
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
manyslayer wrote:
Sorcerer does get them (as he otherwise would have no abilities). He gains the ability to sacrifice but must be Evil (opening him up to Paladins and such).


I thought of this as well, because otherwise the sorcerer doesn't make much sense. It even states in his description "A sorcerer is a magic-user who can power his spells by human sacrifice". What spells?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Santi Velasco
Spain
San Juan de Aznalfarache
Seville
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well I finally found Andrea's own answer in the Yahoo group:

https://beta.groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/songofblades/conver...

so it seem both the sorcerer and the summoner have access to transfix and magic bolts. Of course one might think why not choosing always summoner or sorcerer over plain magic user if they cost the same? but I guess that's because both of them have a built-in limitation, the sorcerer must consume one friendly unit in order to use his power (also he must be evil which is kind of a limitation in a way), and the summoner spends part of the point pool to reserve summoned units which might not enter the battle at all.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.