$20.00
$60.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Hero Realms» Forums » Rules

Subject: Krythos and Lys - sacrifice ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If they sacrifice a card they'll get a damage boost.

Is the damage boost also applied if other of your cards let you sacrifice cards?

Expend: You may sacrifice a card in your hand or discard pile.
If you do, gain an additional X combat.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Roger the Alien wrote:
If they sacrifice a card they'll get a damage boost.

Is the damage boost also applied if other of your cards let you sacrifice cards?

Expend: You may sacrifice a card in your hand or discard pile.
If you do, gain an additional X combat.



The sacrifice part is the price you have to pay to gain the benefit.
Should you sacrifice a card through any other mean, the sacrifice is not paid as a cost. So it would not trigger the damage boost of Krythos or Lys.
This is made clear by the "if you do" part. You get the second part of the ability only if you do the first part.

It would be different if they were worded like that :

Expend: You may sacrifice a card in your hand or discard pile.
Then, if you have sacrificed a card this turn, gain an additional X combat.

That way, the sacrifice would not be tied to the first ability the way it is on the card.

I hope it's easy to understand
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you again, this was my assumption but I needed the last 5% to be 100% sure that I am correct.

If the text would be worded in another way or both parts would be separated by a line this would mean that both effects are independent^^

"THUMBS UB"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dániel Lányi
Hungary
Budapest
* -Not Applicable-
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Razoupaf wrote:

It would be different if they were worded like that :

Expend: You may sacrifice a card in your hand or discard pile.
Then, if you have sacrificed a card this turn, gain an additional X combat.

That way, the sacrifice would not be tied to the first ability the way it is on the card.


There is actually a card like that in Star Realms, so that's kind of proving the different intentions of the designers
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.