$20.00
$60.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about Shared Pain ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Teo M0uFa
Greece
flag msg tools
Can a healer, using this ability, stun the entire monster group?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Silidus
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
To my knowledge no;

Shared pains wording is "Action: Perform an attack. If you deal at least 1 Heart (after rolling defense dice), each other figure in the target's monster group suffers 1 Heart."

The extra monsters in the targets monster group do not 'become the target of the attack' so any extra surge abilities or other effects would not affect them, they simply suffer one heart (the primary target would still be affected by any surge effects such as stun or poison etc).

The only way you could stun the entire group is if you had some sort of general effect such as "whenever a monster suffers one or more hearts during your activation, that monster is stunned.", but to my knowledge, no such ability exists.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kallan Greybe
msg tools
Ugh, now I feel all oily and rules lawyer-ey now, but it kind of needs to be said: it's really important that creatures hit by blast are affected by the attack, but do not become targets of the attack. The distinction makes a difference for example to the Stalker's Exploit skill, which let's you spend a surge to automatically apply weakness to the target, and only the target, of the attack, regardless of damage.

This means in this case you're quite right that Shared Pain won't apply conditions, but that's not because the monsters in the group don't become targets of the attack, it's because the attack makes them legitimate targets of the skill and the skill applies no extra effects. "Six of one..." and all that, but it's a distinction that makes a difference in other cases.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Right. The monsters damaged by shared pain are neither targeted nor affected by the attack in question- that is, they are not attacked. They merely suffer damage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.