~Ryan McSwain
United States
Amarillo
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a seminary student, and one of my professors told me that if I could put together a board game with Christian ideas behind it, he would have "no trouble finding a publisher." The guy is well-respected in Christian publishing, and I respect him enough to believe he isn't feeding me a line.

It took me a few months to finally find a theme and mechanics that work together, but I now have a complete, playtested game with several decent prototypes put together.

Now I have a meeting ONE WEEK FROM TODAY!

So I'll be showing my game to a man who is not in a position to make the decision to publish it himself, but who *is* in a position to pass this puppy along with his stamp of approval if he likes it.

Here's my question: What quality does a prototype need to be? Can it look hand-made or does it need to look professionally printed? This gentleman would probably overlook hand-drawn images on the game's tiles, but will whoever he passes it on to think it looks like garbage?

(To clarify, my game is made up of 100 small cards/tiles, four normal-sized cards, and a pawn.)

I could really use some advice, BGG!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Weitner
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say, the more it feels like a game, the more it will feel like playing a game its players. And you want as much of that immersion as is reasonable. That said, spending a lot of money on a prototype isn't always very reasonable. Your game is mostly cards, however -- good graphics, heavy coated paper and quality printing are, to me, all affordable, although a week isn't much time.

Who are you pitching this to: a game publisher, a toy manufacturer, a book publisher, a calendar publisher?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
~Ryan McSwain
United States
Amarillo
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb