$15.00
$30.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Unarmed Combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Marsh
msg tools
Is attacking unarmed considered Melee? Silly question I know and I'm assuming it is but nothing says otherwise in the rules. Only says that you can attack within range using a range icon and Melee icons need to be on the same space. But considering attacking unarmed has no card or icon what do I do? Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luc Perreault
Canada
Chatham
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Melee
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
hels wrote:
Is attacking unarmed considered Melee? Silly question I know and I'm assuming it is but nothing says otherwise in the rules. Only says that you can attack within range using a range icon and Melee icons need to be on the same space. But considering attacking unarmed has no card or icon what do I do? Thanks in advance!

Attack Action, page 4 of the RR wrote:
1. Select a Attack Type: The investigator selects an Item or Spell
he has that has either a melee icon or a ranged icon.
• The investigator may choose to attack unarmed (without
using an Item or Spell).

Does it matter if it's not a Melee or Ranged attack?

When you attack, you select the "Unarmed Attack" option from the menu the app supplies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baker Odom
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
xris wrote:
hels wrote:
Is attacking unarmed considered Melee? Silly question I know and I'm assuming it is but nothing says otherwise in the rules. Only says that you can attack within range using a range icon and Melee icons need to be on the same space. But considering attacking unarmed has no card or icon what do I do? Thanks in advance!

Attack Action, page 4 of the RR wrote:
1. Select a Attack Type: The investigator selects an Item or Spell
he has that has either a melee icon or a ranged icon.
• The investigator may choose to attack unarmed (without
using an Item or Spell).

Does it matter if it's not a Melee or Ranged attack?

When you attack, you select the "Unarmed Attack" option from the menu the app supplies.


It does matter because it would determine if you have to be in the same space with the target or not.

But yes unarmed is melee...unless you're Dhalsim of course.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
thebaker1983 wrote:
It does matter because it would determine if you have to be in the same space with the target or not.

Why?

Quote:
2. Select a Monster: The investigator selects a monster from the
monster drawer to attack.
• If he has selected an Item or Spell with the melee icon or
he has chosen to attack unarmed, the monster must be in
the investigator’s space.
• If he has selected an Item or Spell with the ranged icon,
the monster can be any monster within range.


Which part of "he has chosen to attack unarmed, the monster must be in
the investigator’s space" don't you understand?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baker Odom
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
xris wrote:
thebaker1983 wrote:
It does matter because it would determine if you have to be in the same space with the target or not.

Why?

Quote:
2. Select a Monster: The investigator selects a monster from the
monster drawer to attack.
• If he has selected an Item or Spell with the melee icon or
he has chosen to attack unarmed, the monster must be in
the investigator’s space.
• If he has selected an Item or Spell with the ranged icon,
the monster can be any monster within range.


Which part of "he has chosen to attack unarmed, the monster must be in
the investigator’s space" don't you understand?


Well since you put the "he has chosen to attack unarmed, the monster must be in the investigator’s space" part in your second post I understand it just fine. But go back to your original post and you'll find it wasn't in there. And since I wasn't able to check the RRG at the time I was responding I couldn't confirm it was in there either.

Keep in mind I was arguing in favor of it being considered melee because I was pretty sure that was in the RRG somewhere. It just wasn't in the portion you originally quoted.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
soak man
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This convo is funny. It's definitely an attack from the same space. If you can't hit someone with a machete or a 2X4 in an adjacent space, I don't see how you could justify anything other than the same space with just your bare hands.

+5 points for the Dhalsim reference.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.