Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Desert Fox Deluxe» Forums » Rules

Subject: ZOCs 10.2 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Brown
United Kingdom
Stockport
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
10.2A - States that a unit 'must stop unless it is capable of overrun(8.3)

So far so good

However 10.2D Night Movement - allows a unit to move through EZOC during a movement phase.

So does 10.2D trump 10.2A, in which case 10.2A doesn't make an awful lot of sense
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rory Colling
United States
VICTOR
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
See 10.2C, you have to Clintonize it!

Haw! JHaw! Sorry couldn't resist!:p
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rory Colling
United States
VICTOR
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Anyways I'm sure that 10.2D is an exception to the rule for special cases...such as night moves.
It's easier to move through an EZOC at night than in broad daylight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Haggett
United States
Riverside
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Given that night movement disrupts the moving unit, it would seem to be something that isn't frequently done.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Brown
United Kingdom
Stockport
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Quote:
Anyways I'm sure that 10.2D is an exception to the rule for special cases...such as night moves.
It's easier to move through an EZOC at night than in broad daylight.


I accept that but the turns are a month long - so how would a unit move through a ZOC during the night and not the day?

It is hard to know if 10.2D is an exception to the rule or just a mistake as it doesn't feel right at this scale.

The way 10.2D itself is written is bizzare
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Haggett
United States
Riverside
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, perhaps more along the lines of infiltration. Perhaps should have made ZOCs semi-permeable and left it at that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Middleton
United States
Laramie
Wyoming
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is an exception to the normal rule.

Since there are no actual night phases for the game, it allows for infiltration by penalizing you with MP costs and disruption.

It is an abstract rule to cover British 50th division night moves without having night phases and without using the old Fox infiltration rules.


Generally, early case nmbers present the main rule, while later ones modify or exempt in for certain situations.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.