$60.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

D-Day at Omaha Beach» Forums » Rules

Subject: German reinforcement goes where? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
MICHAEL MCGUIRE
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm on turn 22 and I pulled a German reinforcement event card. We're does it go? Rule 12.2 for German Communication states: "The path may not pass through any hexes occupied or controlled by US units." But, 12.22 states "when tracing communication to an unoccupied German position, the position hex itself can be in US control and still be in German communication if the communication path can be traced. " So, where does the reinforcement go?
Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Åkerlund
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
A6

A summary of the rules above is that a Communication path may start in a US controlled hex but not be drawn through such a hex after that (unless it's bocage or another German unit is there).

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Samuele Falco
msg tools
mbmbmb
Brastias wrote:
A6

A summary of the rules above is that a Communication path may start in a US controlled hex but not be drawn through such a hex after that (unless it's bocage or another German unit is there).




Correct, basically a hex in US control is eligible to receive reinforcements but its communication path must not pass through other US controlled hexes.
In your case:
-A4 is surrounded, so if you start tracing communication from this position, all successive hexes are US occupied or US controlled.... so not elegible
-A6 can receive a reinforcement, the hex itself is US controlled but the hexes above it are not, it is eligible
-A2: I cannot judge this one. The position is in US control but the hex on the right (west) is not. Communication path may start in A2, go through the hex on the right, and from here continue down the draw (there's just one hex -1211- not US controlled here) and then proceed further west

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Åkerlund
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Samuele has a good point in that A2 could also be eligible if there's a path off to the west that isn't controlled by the US. Remember that garrisons, one-step infantry etc. only control their own hex and also that control does not extend from a draw hex to higher ground.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.