$20.00
$5.00
$30.00
$15.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

The Dragon & Flagon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Riposte and time delaying effects. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Cantrell
United States
Davis
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
When you use Riposte, you set the time the action takes which is the amount of time that you're riposting. There is no marker to mark the length Riposte is active as it's supposed to end when your next action takes place.

In the last game that I played the Paladin decided to Riposte for three turns. Before his next action he got hit by the Druid's Bite and the Mage's ice spell. This delayed his next action by three time spaces.

So is the Paladin now riposting for six turns, or is he only supposed to be riposting for three? We played that he did get the extra three turns of riposting, partially because we felt sorry for him, but there is an argument for not doing that. The rules say under Riposte that you're setting the amount of time that Riposte is supposed to last, and the duration timer on the card says 1-3. No other duration card will extend if your action gets delayed, but then again no duration card works quite like Riposte.

What do you think, sirs?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoffrey Engelstein
United States
Bridgewater
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
The Fog of War! Available now!
badge
Ludology Host and Dice Tower Contributor
mbmbmbmbmb
Scamp wrote:
When you use Riposte, you set the time the action takes which is the amount of time that you're riposting. There is no marker to mark the length Riposte is active as it's supposed to end when your next action takes place.

In the last game that I played the Paladin decided to Riposte for three turns. Before his next action he got hit by the Druid's Bite and the Mage's ice spell. This delayed his next action by three time spaces.

So is the Paladin now riposting for six turns, or is he only supposed to be riposting for three? We played that he did get the extra three turns of riposting, partially because we felt sorry for him, but there is an argument for not doing that. The rules say under Riposte that you're setting the amount of time that Riposte is supposed to last, and the duration timer on the card says 1-3. No other duration card will extend if your action gets delayed, but then again no duration card works quite like Riposte.

What do you think, sirs?


Riposte continues until you take your next action. So six turns in this case.

Oh - and sucks to be Paladin!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.