$20.00
$60.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tag Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chuck Mitchell

Peoria
Illinois
msg tools
mb
When a card has a certain number of tag requirements, do I count tags in my own tableau only or tags out for all players?

Thanks!~
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Denman
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Your own
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Mitchell

Peoria
Illinois
msg tools
mb
That is what I've been playing. But I don't see clear indication in the rules. Where do you find it in the rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Denman
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 6 Cards #6

or

Page 9 right column, first full paragraph
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Buchanan
Canada
flag msg tools
mb
The wording on the card should also tell you all you need to know.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Mitchell

Peoria
Illinois
msg tools
mb
Trump wrote:
Page 6 Cards #6

or

Page 9 right column, first full paragraph


Ah, page 6 #6. I had forgotten to look at that again. Thanks.

Page 9 does not address my specific question, from what I see.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Mitchell

Peoria
Illinois
msg tools
mb
WBuchanan wrote:
The wording on the card should also tell you all you need to know.


Yes it should.

But take one of many examples,#193 Plantation, which reads " requires two science tags."

It does NOT specify WHERE those science tags have to be. That information is contained only on the bottom of page 6 of the rules.

Compare to #197 Terraforming Ganydeme, one example among many where the card is very specific about WHERE the tags need to be. In this case it reads "each Jovian tag YOU have." Language like that on many cards had lead me to question the general rule.

And anticipating the poster who will say it should be "obvious" that only MY tags are generally counted, I'll add that it's not obvious to me. The conceit of the game could include the fact that we are working together to terraform to some extent (since we are), thus we to some extent would 'share' 'resources.'

Anyway, thanks all.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roland Johansson
Sweden
Angered, Göteborg
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I assume tags from both blue and green cards are counted when you want to play a card that requires 2 tags?

I haven't found anything that says yes or no about that in the rules
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Perello
Canada
Salmo
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Want DnDeeples? I'm on Esty as MagnificentMeeples.
mbmbmbmbmb
rolle wrote:
I assume tags from both blue and green cards are counted when you want to play a card that requires 2 tags?

I haven't found anything that says yes or no about that in the rules

You even use the tags from your corporation, which seems to be something that is easily forgotten.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chaddyboy
United States
Olathe
Kansas
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Bloooooop.
badge
Bluuuuuurp.
mbmbmbmbmb
If it was all players' tags, the symbol for the prerequisite would have the red outline around it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luish Moraes Coelho
Brazil
Belo Horizonte
Minas Gerais
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
True. If we all get together for the greater cause of terraforming for everyone in Mars, it would be a lot easier to build the so much useful Anti-Gravity tchnology (requires 7 science tags, costs $14 and is worth 3VPs) and a good value for your money Mass Converter (5 science tags, costs $8 and increases 6 energy production plus an effect of -$2 for building space cards).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.