$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Back to the Future: An Adventure Through Time» Forums » Rules

Subject: Character roles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Heath Donnell
United States
North Vernon
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm having trouble making sense of some character abilities. The rules for George and Jennifer are different on the cards vs the rulebook.

George's card says "Draw 1 character card. May swap 1 character card with the top card of the deck." In the rulebook it says you may discard any card to draw another one.

Jennifer's card says "First character played this turn costs 1 less time." The rulebook adds onto this saying she can play any character card.

George's ability is probably the biggest difference between card text and rulebook. Which version should I be going with?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Leder
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
George has the initial ability of being able to draw a card, with a secondary ability being that you can choose and discard a card from your hand to replace it with a card from the draw pile.

Jennifer's ability is to make the first character card cost one less time, and she can always be used as a wild character to play any character card(s) during your turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Heath Donnell
United States
North Vernon
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MantaScorp wrote:
George has the initial ability of being able to draw a card, with a secondary ability being that you can choose and discard a card from your hand to replace it with a card from the draw pile.


This directly contradicts what the character card says though. The rulebook says you discard a card to draw another, the character role card says you can swap a card with the top card of the deck.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Pinchback
United States
Leonard
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
erik_wolff wrote:
MantaScorp wrote:
George has the initial ability of being able to draw a card, with a secondary ability being that you can choose and discard a card from your hand to replace it with a card from the draw pile.


This directly contradicts what the character card says though. The rulebook says you discard a card to draw another, the character role card says you can swap a card with the top card of the deck.

The intent is the rulebook wording. May discard a card to draw top card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.