Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Starfleet Diplomatic Corps Inquiry - Federation Advancement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Montgomery
United States
Modesto
California
flag msg tools
badge
The Shipyard - Star Trek Attack Wing spoilers and reviews
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you attempt a hegemony if you only have 1 culture?
Starfleet Diplomatic Corps says "When your Hegemony Attempts are successful, taking control of the system does not require spending an additional Culture."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nova Cat
United States
Bakersfield
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grish
Canada
Toronto
flag msg tools
"Music is the mediator between the spiritual and the sensual life." ♯ ♩ ♫ ♪ - Beethoven
badge
--------ViSiT--------- ---------------------- DockingBay416.com ---------------------- ------for some------ ---------------------- -------STAR--------- -------WARS-------- --------------------- ------l-o-v-e--------
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. To attempt you only need to spend 1 culture (pg.21)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grish
Canada
Toronto
flag msg tools
"Music is the mediator between the spiritual and the sensual life." ♯ ♩ ♫ ♪ - Beethoven
badge
--------ViSiT--------- ---------------------- DockingBay416.com ---------------------- ------for some------ ---------------------- -------STAR--------- -------WARS-------- --------------------- ------l-o-v-e--------
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How does that work though, this spending of Culture?

You give the planet a bunch of kim kardashian dvd's and some Rolling Stones Records, and then if you fail, you loose the "Culture?"

"Hey, I want to listen to some Stones man."

"You can't, we gave it all away to planet Zortan."

"Damn."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grish
Canada
Toronto
flag msg tools
"Music is the mediator between the spiritual and the sensual life." ♯ ♩ ♫ ♪ - Beethoven
badge
--------ViSiT--------- ---------------------- DockingBay416.com ---------------------- ------for some------ ---------------------- -------STAR--------- -------WARS-------- --------------------- ------l-o-v-e--------
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Or maybe it's about Culture Appropriation.

When negotiating with planet "x" you give them fashion mags. They refuse to join your Empire but appropriate your fashion sense, making your look no longer unique. Therefore you loose culture.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Grant
United States
Santa Clarita
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In my head canon, it's like diplomatic and political capital associated with your power's cultural achievements. Spending that capital consists of attempting to dazzle the target inhabitants with cultural things or concepts to induce them to join your civilization.

"Behold Terra Novans! Marvel in the efficient filing systems of the Cardassian Union! Join us and we shall share with you our superior secrets of personal organization!"
-Cardassian Diplomat

"qawtaHvIS! We find you worthy warriors of the Klingon Empire! Join us and together we shall slay our enemies!"
-Klingon Diplomat

"You are surrounded by enemies who wish to kill you! Join the Romulus's Star Empire, and our secret intelligence bureau will keep you one step ahead of our shared enemies!"
-Romulan Diplomat

"Let's get rich! Filthy stinking rich!"
-Ferengi CEO
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James J

Texas
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The key is the wording. It says if your roll is successful you may spend an additional culture to take control (and place your node). So even without the Diplomatic Corps upgrade, you could conceivably waste culture by spending one, making a successful roll, and then...not changing anything.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Godwin
msg tools
mbmb
Yes, you can attempt it, but unless you have a second culture to take over, nothing would happen.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nova Cat
United States
Bakersfield
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
John1701 wrote:
Yes, you can attempt it, but unless you have a second culture to take over, nothing would happen.

The OP is asking in regards the Starfleet Diplomatic Corp, which removes the culture cost when a hegemony attempt in successful.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gale Force Nine LLC
United States
Earlysville
Virginia
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, with the Starfleet Diplomatic Corp it only takes 1 Culture to attempt to take over s system via Hegemon, so you can Hegemony a System when you only have 1 Culture.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.