Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Lords of Waterdeep» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cliffwatch Inn rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Master Charlemax
msg tools
If all 3 spaces are free at Cliffwatch Inn, can I assign an agent to the 3rd or 2nd space right away? Or do I have to wait for the 1st space to be filled to assign one to the 2nd space, and for the 2nd space to be filled before I can assign one to the 3rd space?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can assign to whichever space you like.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Yang
Canada
Woodbridge
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The available spaces in the Cliffwatch Inn are not numbered, so you can take any space, whereas the spaces at Waterdeep Habor are numbered, so they must be taken in order.

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Master Charlemax
msg tools
Thanks to both of you. Just wanted to be sure. We have always played it the way you both described, but we didn't want to go on that way if it was wrong. Good to know for sure. Thanks again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Roy
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 9 of the rulebook:

"You can choose any of the available action spaces when you assign
an Agent to Cliffwatch Inn."

Intriguingly, it doesn't say the same for Waterdeep Harbor, which may actually answer the other commonly asked question about whether you have to play those spaces in order.

Or it may not, for those rules lawyers.

ninja Mark, though the Harbor being numbered doesn't seem to stop the questions about it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Master Charlemax
msg tools
hist wrote:
Page 9 of the rulebook:

"You can choose any of the available action spaces when you assign
an Agent to Cliffwatch Inn."

Intriguingly, it doesn't say the same for Waterdeep Harbor, which may actually answer the other commonly asked question about whether you have to play those spaces in order.

Or it may not, for those rules lawyers.

ninja Mark, though the Harbor being numbered doesn't seem to stop the questions about it.


Does it really matter whether the same applies to Waterdeep Harbour? I mean, each Waterdeep Harbour space gives you exactly the same effect. The only difference between them is the order in which you would then reassign your agents, but why would anyone want to go after another player if they could go before them? If you had the choice between 1 and 2, why would anyone ever pick 2? And if someone wanted to, why not just let them disadvantage themselves? Would there ever be any benefit at all to not picking 1 if you had the chance?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Holt
England
Rayleigh
Essex
flag msg tools
This is not the cat you're looking for - some other cat maybe?
badge
tout passe, tout lasse, tout casse
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Picking 2 before 1 at the harbour might well give you the ability to set up two immediately consecutive actions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mindy G
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Mold the chaos into something beautiful
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Charlemax wrote:

If you had the choice between 1 and 2, why would anyone ever pick 2? And if someone wanted to, why not just let them disadvantage themselves? Would there ever be any benefit at all to not picking 1 if you had the chance?


It can matter with the expansion, because resources or corruption get placed on action spaces.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.