Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Ruse & Bruise» Forums » Rules

Subject: Witch and Doppelganger rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sven Van Roosendael
Belgium
Hulshout
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

I have a question about the Witch and the doppelganger. This was the setup:

meepleQUEEN
zombieWIZARD
devilDOBBELGANGER
ninjaWITCH



So the Wizardzombie removes all cards above 10 (including the queenmeeple). Afterwards, the witchninja is supposed to remove all cards below 9, except the witchninja itself. SO the Wizardzombie is removed as well.

But what about the devilDOBBELGANGER? Does it take the "form" of the witchninja (and thus stays in the game, causing the owner to win), or is it removed by the ninjawitch?


PS: Sorry for the emoticons, but that way I could see better which character I'm talking about.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedro Pereira
United Kingdom
Belfast
flag msg tools
See the person next to you? Kill! Kill!!! KILLL!!!!
badge
I'm your baby! Can you feel it?
Avatar
mbmbmb
The Doppelgänger only copies the value, not the character itself, so it would be discarded.

The Witches ability refers specifically to the Witch being immune, not to characters of a certain value.

Hope this helps.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Günter Immeyer
Germany
Essen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A bit late to the party, but I'm afraid Pedro's answer is not correct.

The Doppelganger initially has no value at all. He searches for (and copies) a value from the card below him, after the effects of Wizard and Witch have been resolved.

So in Sven's example, this is what would happen:

1. The Wizard would cause the Queen to get discarded.
2. The Witch would (only) cause the Wizard to get discarded (since the Doppelganger is a card with no value at all at this point and thus is not affected by the Witch).
3. The Doppelganger would now copy the value of the Witch and be worth 1.

=> As a result, the owner of the Doppelganger would now be awarded the goal card, as the score for the column is now tied at 1, but of course the position of the Doppelganger is closer to the goal card than the Witch.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.