Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

1830: Railways & Robber Barons» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tile replacement' rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Koontz
United States
Olathe
Kansas
flag msg tools
I have the AH version so will be quoting from those rules and use the AH tile numbers. 18.1 states in part "A replacement has to always maintain all existing track..." Does this mean all existing track only on the tile it is replacing OR the literal interpretation of all existing track to include other track on the board that has connection to the replaced tile? Specifically: When the PRR places O-O #59 next to New York does the second city on 59 have to connect to NYC or can the PRR orient the tile so the second city connection is to the gray hex to the SE? Similarly, if PRR and B&O are not getting along (imagine that!) and the PRR replaces 57 NE of Baltimore with either green 14 or 15 such that a rail connects to the NE edge of Baltimore, does this prevent the B&O from upgrading Baltimore with the green B tile because it doesn't maintain all existing track?



Thanks in advance. John
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Any route that existed before the upgrade must still exist after (and with all the same cities and stations on it.) So if there was a route to New York before the upgrade, there must be a route after.

However, there is no requirement that you create new routes, which is (I think) what you are asking.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Goch
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All the track on the tile being replaced has to be depicted on the new tile. All connections currently made by the tile being replaced must be preserved by the positioning of the new tile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Ellsworth
United States
Morris
Illinois
flag msg tools
You can pretty much ignore the tiles on the board that aren't the one you're replacing. You can't run a track into the water or a solid gray side or anyplace else that doesn't exist. But there's no requirement that you connect to existing track whether you're placing a new tile or replacing an old tile (other that you have to be extending an existing route). The only requirement is that you replace existing track on the tile you're replacing; if the current tile has a track going to the northeast, your new tile has to have that same track going to the northeast.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
I find it easier t think in terms of paired hex edges and hex-edge station-marker pairs for individual hexagons. After any tile lay or upgrade, all the pairs of edges or pairs of stations and edges that were connected by track must still be connected by track after the tile lay/upgrade. Of course some new pairs may have been created by the new tile. After that there are a few special cases for things like not pointing off the board or into blank gray/red edges, but those are just special cases.
3 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Koontz
United States
Olathe
Kansas
flag msg tools
Thanks! I appreciate the clarifications.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.