$60.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Others» Forums » Rules

Subject: Token Clean-up Missions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Atul Deshpande
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
The Multiple Clarifications FAQ thread has the following question answered:
DeathWarden wrote:

Q: During "Haven's Last Stand" if 4 monsters aren't alive to be marked does the Sin miss out on marking some, or can they mark the next X that are summoned?

A: The Sin player can only mark Monsters that are on the board. If there are fewer than necessary, then fewer will be marked.


I had a question of a similar flavor, but regarding clean-up missions.
Say the scenario has a mission - "Clear two pentagrams from monster-free areas", but during a prior mission, the heroes perform regular cleanse (does not require monster-free space) to clear up pentagrams such that either fewer/no pentagrams exist by the potential start to the mission.

Should the heroes get the benefit like the monsters' case before, or is there some other way to handle this?

Ways I can think of resolving this:
1) If enough Pentagrams do not exist for a clean-up mission, then the heroes cannot take it. (Somewhat like the Damned if you do decision making) So a team will have to think on their actions before coming to a point where they have to choose missions.
2) During a story which has such a mission, a team cannot cleanse pentagrams in monster spaces. This seems to favor the sin player more.
3) During a story which has such a mission, a team can cleanse pentagrams in monster spaces, but they have to keep the number of pentagrams required for the said mission on the board.
4) If there are fewer pentagrams than required as a result of regular cleanse actions, the heroes can choose to remove that lesser number. This can seriously advantage the heroes, though.

Any thoughts on the above? Is there anything clearer in the rule book or the FAQs so far?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sid Rain
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Could you do it where if not enough of the tokens exist on the board, then the Sins player can add those missing tokens to the board until has enough? Location might be key depending on the mission though, as I'm guessing the Sins player would just add it to the opposite end of the board from the Heroes. Maybe they can only choose locations on the Story map that show where those tokens can be placed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Harrow
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
thisisenfield wrote:
The Multiple Clarifications FAQ thread has the following question answered:
I had a question of a similar flavor, but regarding clean-up missions.
Say the scenario has a mission - "Clear two pentagrams from monster-free areas", but during a prior mission, the heroes perform regular cleanse (does not require monster-free space) to clear up pentagrams such that either fewer/no pentagrams exist by the potential start to the mission.

Should the heroes get the benefit like the monsters' case before, or is there some other way to handle this?

Ways I can think of resolving this...

Any thoughts on the above? Is there anything clearer in the rule book or the FAQs so far?


In the quoted Question, it benefits the Heroes if they are able to kill many monsters before triggering the next Mission. If there are not enough monsters to mark, then they benefit from having fewer monsters to kill, as the MIssion objective is simply "kill all marked monsters".

As for your question: Can the Heroes choose to activate a Mission they cannot currently complete? Yes. At the start of a round, the Sin player places new tokens out, so you are not permanently locked out of completing that objective. You'll just need to wait another round for the second Pentagram token to be placed -- Or, since the Heroes know what Missions are available to them at the start of the game, they should keep in mind that they should specifically not clear Pentagram tokens that they expect to use for an upcoming Mission.

There are no game play modifications required because the scenario you are describing only happens if the Heroes play sloppily. Be mindful of your upcoming Missions and you will have no problems.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Maertz
United States
Duluth
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mb
They can read the story line. If they did not have the foresight enough to save two pentagram then they should be forced to pick the other other path in the flow chart.

I just played that mission and the Heroes purposely saved two pentagrams and cleared them on monsters ahead of time in preparation.

Wakrob
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.