$30.00
Corbin Gross
United States
Puyallup
Washington
flag msg tools
Hey, guys.

First time here. Howya doin'.

I'm kind of new to Legendary, but I've got a few hours of play time under my belt, so not totally green...

But about these expansions. Is each expansion dependent on the earlier ones at all? Or can you play any expansion with just the core set?

I have the Legendary base set, and the FF, PTTR, and GOTG expansions. I skipped the Dark City since demons and organized crime don't appeal to me so much. I'll probably pick up the Secret Wars boxes at some point.

But if I'm not terribly interested in the characters/schemes or whatever from Dark City, the other small-box expansions should all work OK, right? Does each expansion build on another in an essential way?

I tend to like to play my games thematically if I'm a fan of the subject matter. I know there could be anything on the cards and it'd still work. But I love having the characters all together in a story that could actually happen, so I pretty much play with Masterminds, Characters, Villains, and Schemes and so forth from a single box, and just add the agents and wounds and whatever from the base set as needed.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ranger Titch
msg tools
No no, each expansion works completely fine on its own. The only potential exception is secret wars 2 comes with 10 cards meant for use in a deck in secret wars 1, but even so it comes with a scheme that makes use of them. So you're good, don't worry. I will say thoygh - dark city is a great set and I would consider getting it at some point, even if it's after you get the rest.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duane Banzon
Philippines
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not entirely sure, since UD does repeat rulesets for abilities re-used in newer expansions (like teleporting and wall crawl) in those loose leaf summaries.