$20.00
$15.00
$5.00
$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Getting stunned on another player's turn rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Marowske
United States
Macomb
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Does a non-active player who gets stunned on the active player's turn discard down to 1/2 their cards immediately, or not until their turn? In other words, does the whole process that takes place when a player gets stunned occur immediately, or not until their turn begins? Also, in that situation, would it be before or after the Dark Arts card is drawn and the Villain card abilities take effect?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jones
United States
Wilsonville
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The whole process is immediate. There is nothing on page 13 of the rulebook that would indicate any of the effects of being stunned are delayed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Marowske
United States
Macomb
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So you're health would not be reset to ten until the end of your turn? Also, could you be subject to additional Dark Arts events and Villain effects in the interim, like discard a card or lose a health? If you have no more health (because the health is not resetting until the end of your turn), would you have to discard a card and then be stuck with 2 cards? This is the situation that came up last night.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonio Tang
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Since step one on page 13 specifies that stunned players cannot lose nor gain health, the situation you describe would not occur. Now, stunned players do discard half their cards, rounded down, so certain dark arts/villain effects (ones based on discards) might still trigger. Heck, even the cards you choose to discard might give you certain benefits (just no health benefits).

Health resets after you follow all the previous steps on page 13. These steps might or might not be occurring on the stunned player's turn. (That is, if you get stunned on another player's turn, you reset during that player's turn as the final step of being stunned.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jones
United States
Wilsonville
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
4ntonio wrote:
Health resets after you follow all the previous [instructions] on page 13.


I just want to clarify the timing of this. Your health resets at the end of the active player's turn, not after following all of the previous instructions. When you are stunned, you will immediately execute instructions 1-5 on page 13, regardless of who the active player is. Once the active player is finished with his turn, all stunned players will then execute instruction six. Its probably easier to think of recovery as happening during step four of the turn order card.

The reason I want to point this out is that there is an item in year six that triggers only when a player is at full health. A player who was stunned would not gain the benefit of this card. The card would be played during step three of a turn but recovery would happen after this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Wolf
United States
Carlsbad
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
davypi wrote:
4ntonio wrote:
Health resets after you follow all the previous [instructions] on page 13.


I just want to clarify the timing of this. Your health resets at the end of the active player's turn, not after following all of the previous instructions. When you are stunned, you will immediately execute instructions 1-5 on page 13, regardless of who the active player is. Once the active player is finished with his turn, all stunned players will then execute instruction six. Its probably easier to think of recovery as happening during step four of the turn order card.

The reason I want to point this out is that there is an item in year six that triggers only when a player is at full health. A player who was stunned would not gain the benefit of this card. The card would be played during step three of a turn but recovery would happen after this.


That is correct. Stunned Heroes recover to full Health at the end of the turn in which they got Stunned, regardless of whether they were the Active Hero or not. And the particular Item you are referring to cannot help a Stunned Hero, since it is played and resolved before a Stunned Hero recovers.

Andrew Wolf
Game Designer - USAopoly
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Marowske
United States
Macomb
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks everyone.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.