Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Star Wars: Rebellion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Effect of outmaneuver card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Koen Buytaert
Belgium
Destelbergen
Oost-Vlaanderen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Imperial player attacks and destroys an X-Wing.
The Rebel player attacks in return and plays Brilliant Strategy. He draws Outmaneuver and No Escape. Can the rebel player play the Outmaneuver card to prevent the destruction of his X-Wing which the Imperial player destroyed in his attack?
The battles are simultanious i thought.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
. . . give a ship.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You should read the rulebook about when people assign and block damage.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can break down a combat round initiated by the Imperials as follows:

1: Imperials roll dice and play non-blocking cards
2: Imperials assign damage
3: Rebels play blocking cards
4: Unblocked damage is assigned to Rebel ships and Rebel ships at or above their threshold are set aside to indicate their destruction (but still contribute dice in step 5)
5: Rebels roll dice and play non-blocking cards
6: Rebels assign damage
7: Imperials play blocking cards
8: Unblocked damage is assigned to Imperial ships and Imperial ships at or above their threshold are destroyed along with the Rebel ships set aside earlier.

Given this sequence, it's clear to see that a card drawn by the Rebels in step 5 cannot be used to block damage, as they could only do that in step 3. The first time Outmaneuver could be used is in the next combat round of that theater.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
This sequence is also the reason why the stronger defensive cards require a discard as extra "cost" instead of a saber clash die symbol like the stronger attacK/generic cards do - while blocking you have no roll to pay symbols with.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.