$35.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Epic Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: rulebook Battle Phase trigger abilities from combat dmg rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
nikolaos Kamoudis
Greece
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rulebook at battle phase in line 4.4.13 it must be add a text about trigger that occur from combat dmg resolve now.(rightous,soul hunter ability 5dmg)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yes, it would be clearer, specially since there's things there for triggers resulting from declaring attackers & blockers.

I do think they're both technically covered, though. At least, in the case of Righteous the timing is under the Righteous rules:

Quote:
5.13.3 The health gain will take effect the next time a player receives Initiative.

Nothing specific for Soul Hunter, but seems to me it comes under general triggers:

Quote:
3.4.2 If an ability triggers in the middle of the resolution of an event or effect, that ability will wait until the next time an event could be played (by anyone) in order to resolve.

That's a bit more tenuous though.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nikolaos Kamoudis
Greece
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So all of them are trigger after the end of combat phase or before the end of combat phase(to avoid future confuse if there are skill that trigger at end of combat phase).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Basically the answer to "when does this trigger" in Epic is almost always "the next time a player has initiative", or in other words, the next time anyone would be allowed to play a card. So after the combat phase, when initiative returns to the active player.

If you fight a battle and their Soul Hunter dies, and you've got a 2nd Wind burning a hole in your hand, tough luck, you die before you can play it. You should have played it after blockers were declared, before you passed initiative and your opponent passed too (which they obviously would because they were clearly about to win).

It's trickier with Righteous but the same idea applies. If a Breakthrough attack is going to kill you, but your Gold Dragon is dealing enough damage to the attacker that it would save you again, tough, you're dead. Assigning combat damage happens before you have initiative, the Righteous happens once you get initiative back (which you never do coz you're dead).

Righteous and Soul Hunter in the same combat is done based on whose turn it is, like all triggers waiting to resolve. The person whose turn it is resolves their triggers 1st. If an attacking Soul Hunter dies to a blocking Gold Dragon, and Soul Hunter's 5 damage would be lethal, it's lethal. If a blocking Soul Hunter dies to an attacking Gold Dragon, and the Righteous healing would save the attacker, it's fine, attacker's trigger resolvest first.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.