$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
Chris Shaffer
United States
Portland
OR
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If the M7 chooses not to lay its home tile at a cost of 40, can it still run an L train for 20?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Allard
United States
Dover
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mb
Hi,

If you are talking about the 7 in the Warrington Hex - then yes, it must lay a yellow tile as its first action.

JimA
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Shaffer
United States
Portland
OR
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
JimA759 wrote:
If you are talking about the 7 in the Warrington Hex


Yes, that is the company.

Quote:
then yes, it must lay a yellow tile as its first action.


That is not in the rules. While it might be stupid for the owner of the M7 to forgo laying a tile, there is no requirement to do so.

The question is, in the event the owner chooses not to lay the tile in Warrington, will an L train owned by the M7 run for revenue, or not?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephe Thomas
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
An L train runs for the value of any city in which the company has a station marker token (if the company has more than one such train, the cities chosen must be different)), plus up to one town to which it is connected. In the case at hand, that's zero.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Cutforth
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mb
Indeed, the L train will run for the value of the station in which the owning company's token is placed (plus, potentially, one small station). If the owning company chooses not to lay a tile, with the exception of the pre-printed locations, then the value of the city is £zero.
So you can start in Warrington, choose not to lay track but be obliged to own and therefore buy a train, and run the train for £zero. There MAY be occasions on which this is the right thing to do.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.